Following The Freemakers: A Perilous Rescue

OK so I know I say this a lot on this blog, especially on the topic of The Freemaker Adventures, but… THINGS ARE GETTING SO REAL RIGHT NOW OMYGOSH. I can only hope I can get all my thoughts out in a coherent way because I still haven’t processed all that went down in this one. Either way this ought to be an interesting post. Read on, Freemaker fam!

Contains spoilers from Episode V, The Empire Strikes Out, TCW episode The Lawless, Rebels episodes Rise Of The Old Masters and Twin Suns, and Freemakers episodes The Lost Crystals Of Qalydon, Flight Of The Arrowhead, and A Perilous Rescue.

So I’ve told you guys before that I got Kordi in a TFA personality quiz and, even though I know we have things in common, I still felt like she was more of the character I’d like to be than the character I feel I am (which would probably be Rowan). But soon as she started rambling excitedly in front of the Rebellion’s big shots, I finally truly truly saw myself in her and exclaimed “OMG that is so me!” Talking really really fast, forgetting to breathe except in squees, realizing I said something that I feel came out sounding dumb even if it’s true, and then trying to overexplain myself which ends up sounding dumb all over again. I’ve literally done it all. All Star Wars characters have something I can relate to, but it’s really fun and really special when a character shares something this specific in common with you 🙂 Random way to start the blog, perhaps, but something I really needed to say before anything else.

Anyway, it’s so wonderful watching Kordi and Zander begin a new chapter with the Rebellion, in an even bigger way than when they first got here. I was so thrilled to hear Kordi addressed as “commander” as she joins the ranks of Rebel bossladies before her! And Zander is finally able to show Blue Squadron what he’s capable of as the Arrowhead makes quick work of an Imperial fleet. I’m even prouderer than I was at that medal ceremony! But for Rowan, his new title’s brought him back to square one — a place where he’s unsure of what he can do for the Alliance. Poor child. I don’t think Ro’s had an uneventful day since he first heeded the Kyber Saber’s call, so I could understand why it’d be a challenge to slow down. Wonder if he has any hobbies from before all of this. After all, he’s a master builder now, but he wasn’t always. Well if you recall back on the pilot Kordi commented on him having a great singing voice, so maybe he should take up karaoke! But that’s a moot point right now. I can see why Jedi are better off not craving adventure and excitement, because sometimes when you go off looking for such things, you get something far more dangerous than you bargained for…

On that note, I was thinking a lot today about the fact that Rowan is figuring out all this Jedi stuff on his own, that he has no master who could’ve reminded him not to seek adventure, not make rash decisions with no plan, and not let emotions cloud his judgement. Now true Luke had two masters teaching him and they couldn’t keep him from making a decision with mixed results, but you’ve gotta wonder a little. What would it be like for this masterless padawan to have had a real master the whole time? Or to even have had a master right now? Would it have made a difference? How would it have influenced him? Rowan is in such a unique position compared to other Jedi we’ve seen, learning much from his family and his wild adventures that I’m not sure a Jedi master could teach. As a whole I don’t think Ro has suffered being masterless, but as you watch him do stuff that would’ve gotten him kicked out of the Order back in the day, it’s easy to wonder if a wise voice (that wasn’t from a well-meaning-but-easily-destroyed battle droid) would have kept Rowan from attempting this perilous rescue. Again, it’s all a moot point now, but the what-ifs can be interesting to ponder on. I hope I got my point across, that was a lot all at once.

So Vader and M-OC make quite the dream team, don’t they? 😛 I’ve always loved what they did with The Empire Strikes Out with the concept of Sith-y sibling rivalry, and since the special’s not even close to canon now (RIP Maul), I’m quite happy they gave me something in a similar vein here that’s both funny and honestly believable. Yep the boys are Palpatine’s pride and joy!
Exceptthathehasnoproblemkillingthembutwhatever.

Y’know it’s interesting… I’ve been analyzing Star Wars thoroughly for six years now, and it still keeps keeping me guessing. Every time I think I know what’s going to happen next, I miss the mark like a stormtrooper in the dark! I really bought Maynar’s transmission at first. I think I was just so happy to get an opportunity to see her and Rowan on an exciting mission again, that I didn’t quite consider that maybe this wasn’t the direction the story was heading. As the episode went on, I started to think that this had something to do with Vader or M-OC. Once they landed, I began to wonder if maybe this was a trap in the vein of TCW’s The Lawless or SWR’s Rise Of The Old Masters. But for all the pieces I put together, I couldn’tve predicted in a million years that M-OC was the holo of Maynar all along. *Shudders* that reveal will never cease to terrify me. I’m glad this didn’t take the same kind of dark turn the aforementioned episodes did, but… it still took a really dark turn. You have Rowan alone up against M-OC in a dark, locked-down Imperial transport. It’s basically what nightmares are made of. Rowan puts up an amazing fight with the crafty hunter droid, but it’s Darth Vader who wins the battle. He dismembers Sidious’s creation in no time at all, he downs the boy in one swift move, and his dark master’s quest seems to be fulfilled at last. In case anybody forgot who the real most-terrifying force in the galaxy is… you won’t forget again. You can fix up a droid with all the weapons you want, but it’ll never be as efficient and deadly as Lord Vader. Such a cool, unexpected twist! BUT STILL SO TERRIFYING.
The very thing I’ve feared could happen this whole series has happened.
The last of the Forcebuilders is about to be at the mercy of the most evil, powerful man in the galaxy.

Anyone else still in shock? OK technically you might’ve already finished the season at this point but still! There are no words. Just can’t wait until I see what happens next on this amazing amazing show.

Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

