Following The Freemakers: Flight Of The Arrowhead

OK so this episode was a ton of fun and there’s a few things I’m going to need to write on about, so feel free to join in on my Freemaker follow-up on Flight Of The Arrowhead!

Contains spoilers from Episode VI, Episode VII, and Freemakers episodes The Pit And The Pinnacle and Flight Of The Arrowhead, along with some minor stuff from the episodes prior.

OK so this is just a nerdy realization on my part I should’ve remembered last episode, but that whole thing about kyber crystals being highly volatile finally clicked with me. Watching them go off like firecrackers I was all “Well I guess that makes sense…” and only later did I remember that the Death Star was powered by them. Le duh. If you’re new to Star Wars, you should never feel dumb because even those of us who’ve been in the fandom for a decade don’t always know what’s going on! Just something on my brain the last few days. Also “kabloomey” might be the best descriptive word ever XD

So when Quarrie was talking about an ideal pilot for the Arrowhead‘s maiden voyage, I’d really sorta thought it might be Hera he was thinking of. But then I did notice that I haven’t seen her around Home One lately, not even at the medal ceremony at the end. Wonder what she’s up to? I’m quietly hoping that she’s getting some family time in with her crew (and that nobody’s died in the last few years), but who knows? Makes you curious though doesn’t it? Anyway, I certainly wasn’t disappointed though to see Lieutenant Valeria again! I’d actually been missing her a bit, even as a supportive character she’s just so fun and full of energy I was hoping she might get involved in a Freemaker misadventure again. And they decided today to grant my wish! Granted, I’m sure she would’ve rathered come back this episode flying something a little more put-together, but it made for some great burns and banter! Quarrie we love you but you gotta start giving us the important info the first time around.

So I love not only that we got to visit Jakku this episode, but that they integrated it in a really neat way. I would’ve loved to have seen Nima Outpost and all that craziness there, but by just portraying it as a ludicrously barren wasteland as far as most of the galaxy knows, it really sinks in just how truly awful and desolate the place is, and how it’ll likely feel for Rey thirty years from now. Also they gave me another one of my favorite SW creatures and brought in some happabores! Yay for slow slobbery space pigs! 😀

But who’dve guessed the guys riding the slow slobbery space pigs would be Ensign Plumestriker and Sub-Ensign Durpin! I really don’t know how they keep failing and still manage to avoid Force-chokings, but thank goodness ’cause they’re fun to foil. And yeah now go-getter Plumestriker’s in charge! He tha bossman! I also do wonder why they keep getting stuck together on missions when clearly their differences in work ethic clash to an often dangerous level. I think maybe some higher-up graycoats just don’t like either of ’em and want them out from under their command. Yikes Imperial politics can be mean. But either way, I’m impressed Plumestriker got as far as he did (and his acting chops are pretty on-point, too. I really thought he was buying that Vader disguise). Just… maybe they need to go into Imperial janitorial services for a change. Hehe that would be a fun confrontation! Roger could clean ’em up with his mop skills! XD

Another kind of random query but… when Zander and Roger got captured, it was daytime, but by the time “Darth” Kordi showed up, night had fallen. Did it take that long to craft the dumb thing?? OK suddenly I just remembered they were probably planning on using the darkness to their advantage I don’t know why I even wrote this paragraph. Can’t believe the Imps argued that long tho. Really, have neither of them gone to HR about this? Oh right this is the Empire. I don’t get the feeling they care much about creating a friendly workspace…

OK so as a whole, I’m not the kind of fangirl who ships on sight. There needs to be something obvious there and it has to be reasonable before I can mash up a certain guy’s name with a certain girl’s name and start squeeing over ’em. Sometimes I wonder on things, but I don’t make a habit of writing the wonderings here… usually. BUT THE WAY ZANDER LOOKED AT VALERIA WHEN SHE RAN OUT TO FACE THAT AT-ST…
I’d sort of tossed the concept around back when she debuted in the shorts, but clearly they saw each other as friendly coworkers and that was it. So it seemed, anyway. Now, I’m aware I could be way way off, like, the-distance-between-the-inner-rim-and-wild-space kind of way off. And I’m OK with that. But there’s something about the look on his face and his quiet “wow…” that comes off as more than just impressed… I suppose we’ll just wait and see where this goes :3

But moving on, how about that Arrowhead?! Might be one of the prettiest ships ever to grace the Star Wars saga! Its shape, its speed, its sound, its firepower, its blue kyber-y glow… it. is. magnificent. I definitely am eyeballing that Lego kit now. I have some questions on what will come next for the vessel, though… because we all know that it’s not going to be what ultimately saves the Rebellion. If it had been, well, the battle of Endor would’ve been over a lot sooner. But at the same time, Rowan’s vision was not for nothing, it was part of his destiny to build the Arrowhead. But for what reason, ultimately? Some deep thoughts there. Either way, watching it cut through that star destroyer was a bea-utiful sight to see! “Like a lightsaber through kaadu butter!” indeed.

And we finally got ourselves a medal ceremony! And our three young heroes got some fantastic new promotions! I could not have felt prouder! It’ll be neat to see how the Freemakers embrace their new roles as shipbuilder, quartermaster, and cadet. And it’ll also be quite interesting since we know that this isn’t the end of the season… and again, that the Arrowhead is not the final answer. Strange how such a victorious ceremony can also leave you with a bad feeling about this, huh?
But don’t worry Roger, we’ll get you one of those reward stickers from The Yoda Chronicles 🙂

Wow I had a lot more to talk about this post than I thought I would! But that’s great. I hope I was able to deliver some fun stuff and some StarWarsian food for thought today. Until next week!

Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

