Rebel Transmissions: Legacy Of Mandalore

Ah yes Rebels are back and it’s Transmission time again! Forgive my kind of bad timing… and the very very big hole in my SW knowledge that is Mandalore and 80% of its culture. Won’t stop me from writin’ all my fangirl musings down tho. Let’s begin as we dig into Legacy Of Mandalore!
NOTE: Contains spoilers from Rebels episodes Imperial Supercommandos, Trials Of The Darksaber, and Legacy Of Mandalore

FIRST OF ALL… she hasn’t been back since before her time at the Imperial Academy? Where was the Imperial Academy then? On the capital Mandalore we see in The Clone Wars or a different Mando-territory? Sorry that was not a good way to open up, but you see, I usually write these posts on my second-ever viewing of the episode, so at this point I’m paying much much closer attention to what’s going on because I have time to pause and contemplate and digest all the information being conveyed. First viewing I was pretty much on the edge of my seat the whole time because obvious reasons OMG WE’RE GOING TO MEET SABINE’S FAMILY. What struck me about all of this was that Sabine is the only member of the Ghost crew to have all her core family alive and well and within reach… and yet, she fears going home to them. We’ve spent the longest time in the dark with her past, and now… well, we’re finally getting that family reunion Animation Magazine “predicted” a year back (long story read the fourth paragraph in this post here). It’s almost a surreal sort of feeling. Anyway yes tensions are high as the Phantom II flies on to Krowsnest (btw one of the most epic names ever). Especially as soon as Sabine makes her presence known and quite quickly arrive the “flying Stormtroopers” known as Clan Wren — with rockets pointed in their direction. Ezra’s utterly confused “OMG DUDE WHAT THE HECK” face is so perfect though. Not all families are as nice as yours, Ez… at least not when you happen to be a so-called traitor. Hoo boy. I was pretty worried when the Imp-Mandos drew their blasters in Chop’s direction… you know how some Manderrs are with their droid-shooting. I was relieved that they didn’t fire on him, but then I realized “Ohhhh right though they just blasted the Phantom so… that isn’t much better.”
OK totally random observation but the artist/animator in me was absolutely internally screaming with delight over that snow. IT’S SO REAL AND BEAUTIFUL. I’VE NEVER SEEN SNOW THAT LOOKED THAT GOOD IN AN ANIMATED SERIES. LIKE WOW. Sort of had to slap myself in the face to bring my attention back to the story. I really had no idea we’d be venturing to a different side of Mandalore (or as I later found out, technically a different Mandalore all together) so instead of getting lots of transparisteel and cubism topiary we got all this beautiful snow and trees and like maybe only 2% transparisteel. Don’t tell me you weren’t mesmerized by this scenery too man. But ultimately this glorious snowy forest is just a backdrop to the many complicated emotions about to rise. In fact I’m sure the gray skies and cold ground are accenting the cold reception and the very cold “meh” life of the disgraced Wrens. Sabine warns Ezra to exercise caution when facing their gray-armored opponents, as these guys could be family. Ez only pulled his lightsaber in case he needed it but then the lead supercommando freaked out and pulled out his blaster and everything went crazy from there. OK maybe not that crazy, really just until the leader heard Sabine’s name. He took of his helmet and his perfect familial resemblance ’bout knocked me over. This is Tristan, Sabine’s brother. I saw the briefest glimpse of him when SW socials posted screencaps early-on and though I tried to avoid spoilers I couldn’t help but notice this handsome bro. I had no idea what to expect of his character and if he’d be as likable as his design, but the fact he had no interest in fighting his sister and her friends (and that he wasn’t a raging ball of totally-pro-Empire Mando fury) gave me reason enough to like him off the bat either way. Also his name is perfect it’s so perfect I can’t believe no one named a SW character Tristan before this. Also also I love the fact that apparently Sabine’s rainbow hair has been a thing for a long while. How’d she get away with that at the Academy? Either way that earns her even more cool points! Anyway so now Sabine and the Jedi are finally heading to her old home. Chopper’s staying behind and laying low, “Sure as shoot I’m not gettin’ involved in this mess… though Fenn, you go have fun out there if you like, I do not mind.” XP
So… meeting with Mama Wren went… OK I guess. Ursa is a complete bosslady and has an amazing amazing costume design, but… she basically had full intent to toss her daughter in a cell until she saw the Darksaber in her hand. Who does that?? Also apparently Mandalorians consider waving “hello” a punishable crime. Poor Ez. Seems he’s the only one trying to break up all the tension today. I shall still applaud his efforts anyway. But yeah Ursa is less than thrilled to let her status-destroying traitorous Rebel child back home. And it’s literally the most sad/frustrating/disheartening conversation-that’s-not-really-a-conversation-because-it’s-more-of-an-argument. I do think I finally made sense of all these fragments of Sabine’s backstory though so that’s something. But… yeah I definitely get Ezra’s confusion with Mando culture right now. I can hardly fathom the idea of basically disowning your kid over what really shakes down to be a political matter. Honestly it’s hard for me to fathom disowning your own precious child to begin with, regardless of what they’ve done. All I can say right now Hera’s parenting > Ursa’s parenting. But that’s not fair really (even if it’s *cough* still kinda true). Taking the conversation outside, Ursa admits she didn’t really want to serve the Empire but it was one of those “join-us-or-die” situations and what else could she’ve done? So yeah lot of emotions going on here on my part. I was pretty grumpy with Mrs. Wren’s grumpiness, but… in reality, the Wrens are just really broken right now, like all of Mandalore, like all the galaxy. Sabine was gone, Mr. Wren imprisoned, Tristan working for Gar Saxon, and Ursa trying to protect her people against all kinds of hateful retaliating from other clans. Last few years have been really hard and unfortunately Sabine’s presence doesn’t help right now. So now I just want to cry for all that tore this once-strong family apart. Sabine still requests her mother’s help, still hands her the Darksaber. Though not entirely convinced her daughter knows how to use it, Ursa seems to accept it. Too bad soon as we turn around we find the countess talking with GAR SAXON. OmO Probably a good thing Fenn Rau snuck on in shortly after. Sure nice having at least one Mando on our side right now. Because yeah… Kanan and Ezra’s negotiating attempts fall through really really fast…
So name one thing scarier than Gar Saxon with the Darksaber. NOTHING. OK maybe that’s a little bit hyperbolical considering the large array of terrifying villains in SW, but he’s definitely high up on the list for me. Especially when it’s clear he’s altered the deal and he don’t bat an eyelash at altering it further (sorry that was kind of shameless). I applauded heartily though when Tristan was the first of the Wrens to stand up. And again when Fenn Rau busted in with Kanan and Ezra’s lightsabers. And again some more when Ezra tossed Sabine his lightsaber just as Saxon was about to strike Ursa. The bad guys may be at their baddest, but the good guys are at their best, and it’s nothing short of amazing. I basically spent the entire climax unable to breathe one moment and then cheering on our heroes the next. Definitely couldn’t breathe once Sabine and Saxon started dueling out on the ice. I mean, I’m thinking the whole time either someone’s gonna die by blade or die by freezing and either way it ain’t gon’ be pretty. Not gonna lie I was literally quivering with both fear and anticipation. Then in a swift move Sabine sends her foe to his knees… but she still does things her way and refuses to kill him. AND THEN THE SHOT RANG OUT and I was all “WHAHT. JUST. HAPPENED?” And then we saw that the fierce Mama Wren shot first. One of the truly epicest things I’ve seen all season. Now that’s what I call loyalty 🙂
And then the beautiful bittersweet ending that made all SWR fans everywhere cry buckets. Sabine’s decided to stay and help her family fight back and find her dad, a tough decision, but one she feels she’s just gotta make for now. For the first time ever, to see a member of this precious crew-family saying goodbye… it was unimaginable just about. I know it’s not forever but… it still feels final, and it still got me tearing up. Her and Kanan’s hug… oh gosh I was dead. So so dead. With feels. This goodbye may bring about tears, but I believe it’s not the end. While Sabine stands aside her blood family in what may be their most desperate hour, her thicker-than-blood family will keep fighting for the rest of the galaxy while they wait for her to come home again.
And so the post comes to a close and I’m all choked up again. I look forward greatly to seeing what happens from here with our Ghost fam and all of their extended fam. Until next time.

Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

