A 2017 Built On Hope + Remembering Carrie Fisher

Happy 2017, my fellow Star Wars fans! Nothing quite beats that New Year’s rush, does it? New opportunities await and the air is rich with the feeling of hope! Not to mention all the new Star Wars that lies ahead.
Indeed, since seeing Rogue One, Cassian’s wise words “rebellions are built on hope” come to mind often. And with all the excitement and hope still in front of us, I feel like writing about SW more than ever.
I’m tired of just posting one big blog a week, talking about just the newest episode of Rebels or just the most recent book I’ve read. These grand, amazing stories are on my brain everyday seven days a week 366 days a year (no that’s not a typo that’s true even for normal not-leap-years). Sometimes writing can be tough and it feels like a burden, but honestly, this is the best platform I’ve got for gushing over — I mean, discussing — Star Wars. So why would I be quiet? Why would I not take a few minutes every Tuesday or so to write some more? This is the year I finally start writing for Padawanline like I always should’ve. My hope is that I’ll be able to write at least one other post a week to discuss the latest news, or whatever fascinating SW thoughts come to mind. I rather doubt I’ll be that consistent all the time (especially around the holidays), but I’m gonna try. Even a duck has to be taught to swim.
Yes, I regret I haven’t discussed more things lately. I mean, Rogue One was amazing! How haven’t I talked about it yet? Well partly that’s due to the fact no one in my family’s seen it yet so I gotta keep the spoilers on the down-low. Other part is… well, yeah, I typically don’t write much around Christmas because obviously it’s Christmas and I have merriment to make before anything else. But um… yeah I’m rambling. I will definitely have to write about that some more soon.

Now, I didn’t start writing this just to tell you about what I’ve got planned for the year. My main intention was to say something in honor of Carrie Fisher. I know it’s been a week now, but I wanted to make sure I got all my thoughts in order before I said anything. If you follow Padawanline on tumblr, you’ll notice I now use a storybook illustration of Leia for my avatar in honor of her. It actually was on tumblr I found out the sad news. There’s no doubt it was a massive shock. It… just didn’t seem possible. Even the most casual of Star Wars fans feel what I’m feeling. It had only been a week before that I got to see Rogue One, and literally the night before, I was watching Episode IV again. There were tears on my part, absolutely. But after the tears had fallen, the sadness I felt was overtaken by warm memories. From my first viewing of A New Hope almost ten years ago, to seeing her wonderfully reprise the role for The Force Awakens, to seeing her interviewed at Celebration Europe last year. Even Lego and Rebels and the books came to mind, because even though Ms. Fisher herself didn’t play the roles or write the books, it was her utterly perfect performances, how she portrayed the Princess in the films, that inspired the authors and voice actors and animators to reach for the level of awesome she defined. As strong and witty and wonderful as the character she brought to life, Carrie Fisher… she was not only one of the greatest actors to walk the earth, but also clearly one of the greatest people, period. I know this might all sound cliche, but it’s nothing short of the truth. She’ll always be royalty to me ❤

So yes… I have no idea how to segue after pouring my heart out like that. It's tough trying to find something to say when you're not sure what to say even after a week of reflection. Forgive me if anything I said in that last paragraph sounded dumb because I did not intend it to.
I’m highly looking forward to talking Star Wars even more thoroughly this year. Thank you all again, readers 🙂 I’ll see you all on Thursday for a fresh new Rebel Transmission!

Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

