Rebel Transmissions: The Last Battle

You ready for another Rebels Transmission? “ROGER ROGER!” Today we’re turning back the clock a bit and takin’ it back to the Clone Wars in the beyond-thrilling episode The Last Battle. Eeeeeep I’m so excited to be writing this one!
NOTE: Contains spoilers from Episode III and the Rebels episode The Last Battle

*Does Tom Kane Clone Wars Narrator impression* HAVING RUN LOW ON WEAPONS, KANAN JARRUS, EZRA BRIDGER, GARAZEB ORRELIOS, AND CHOPPER, LED BY CLONE CAPTAIN REX, HAVE VENTURED INTO AN ABANDONED SEPARATIST DROID BASE LOOKING FOR UNUSED AMMUNITION. LITTLE DO THEY KNOW, HOWEVER, WHAT DANGEROUS GAME IS PLANNED FOR THEM….
That was fun. Maybe I should open up all my Transmissions like this. I was pretty instantly hit with TCW nostalgia when I saw that base. I can’t put my finger on it exactly, but I’m certain I’ve seen it before. I guarantee you I’ll rewatch some episode next week and recognize it. But at the same time, we’re instantly hit by that beautiful Ghost family camaraderie. “I’m sure everything will go horribly wrong.” XD As Zeb once said, the only thing we can plan for is the plan changing. At this point the Rebs’ve come to expect that. Ezra is fascinated when he comes upon the dismembered head of a Separatist battle droid, a “clanker” as Rex calls it. Also I do have a query — if Rex didn’t keep track of all the droids he blasted, then what’re the hash marks on his helmet for? Well, it makes sense I guess if you marked all the droids the helmet would probably be blackened. Hmm more things to double-check while rewatching TCW. Ezra isn’t terribly impressed by the dorky droid, but Rex makes very clear they’re no laughing matter; he’s lost a lot of brothers to them. “Wars leave scars, not all of them you can see” Oh goshhh this wouldn’t be the last time my heart broke for Rex this episode. Can I just talk about the Captain for the rest of the blog? I have enough thoughts on him to fill several blogs tbh, but I know I’m need to stay focused on the episode as a whole. I’ve been thinking a lot on him lately ’cause well… the title made me wonder if this would indeed be Rex’s last battle, as in, he might die. I was trying to prepare myself for the worst, but I was also re-remembering all of his great adventures and just what a great guy he is. I’d been preparing so much, I was a bit surprised when we reached the end of the episode and he was alive and well. But hey, I couldn’t be more thankful for that. I remember five years ago, when I first started really getting into the Prequels and TCW and, though I knew there were different clones, I knew there was a guy named Rex and a guy named Cody, I couldn’t always remember how to tell them apart. Fast-forward a few years and much growth in my SW understanding, and now I know and love all the troopers. But I think it’s safe to say Rex is among the most known and beloved. Especially seeing him now in Rebels, getting to know him even better by the day, particularly in this wonderful Rex-centered episode. Hehe I’d honestly missed seeing him around even though it’s only been a few episodes. Sooo yeah… I lost my train of thought. I’ll come back to more Captain Rex convos later. Anyway, so hooray! The Rebs found the mother lode of munitions! But as they walk right into a ray shield… they find something less than thrilling: fully-functioning battle droids, who’ve captured them for the Separatist Alliance. Methinks the clankers don’t get out much. Or have access to the holonet. Also one of the greatest Ezra lines ever spoken: “Wait, who’s Roger?” I utterly died. I laughed so hard and so long it was only the drama going on that got me to stop. ‘Cause yeah the droids followed up with a stunning and dragged the four off. Oh my I’ve missed these clankers. I know they were/are trouble, but they’re downright adorable. The way they light up a room with their honest wit and perfect one-liners! I’m glad we’ve had Roger around in The Freemaker Adventures, but it’s fun to see them all again as a dorky unit, even if, again, they’re causing trouble 🙂
So this would be the second time my heart broke for Rex this episode. Cuffed in a Separatist base, surrounded by battle droids led by a menacing tactical droid, as far as Rex knows, he’s back in the war again. His brief moment of terror hit me hard, and was a reminder of just how much trauma and hurt he’s been through in the last twenty years or so. He looks to Commander Cody for help, but is brought back to reality as he realizes it’s Kanan. I love though that instantly Kanan calls him “buddy” and encourages the Captain to press on. Being reminded of how much their bond has grown is precious. But no time for friendship feels did I mention there’s a tactical droid? A very very smart tactical named Kalani, who, again, I know him from TCW but I can’t place just where right now. Apparently when the Clone Wars ended, the droid army got shut down, but Kalani was smart enough to know there was no reason to, and didn’t allow for his crew to go down. Does bring up a few questions. What about that battle droid gang, the Droid Gotra? How’d they avoid the shutdown so they could go on and wreak revenge? Maybe I’m the only one who found that mention in Tarkin fascinating, but it’s certainly worth pondering on. Kalani’s been planning a long time on how he might win the Clone Wars for the Separatists once and for all, and now he’s got a clone, two Jedi, and a hostage (that’d be Zeb) to play his little war game. Ezra is willing to take on the challenge. He wants to help Rex and Kanan win this last battle, and he ain’t scared of a few wimpy little clankers (said clankers were quite insulted XP ). Though a battle’s the last thing the Jedi and clone want, Kanan knows it’d be easier to fight them head-on than try and escape any other way. And so the game begins…
It’s a good thing Chopper had wisely avoided the ray shield’s deadly maw. Not only that he isn’t going to cross any clankers (not that he couldn’t completely pwn them tho), but he’s also found something that might be of interest: a very nice old shuttle. He’s gonna shoot Hera a transmission about it (and probably also the fact his crew’s taken hostage by battle droids). Problem is, the Empire might’ve gotten ahold of the transmission first, and Pryce is just lovin’ the idea of making the Rebels’ day even more miserable! Ohh dearrrr.
Yes it’s quite a thrill watching Rex leading Kanan and Ezra into battle. Swarms upon swarms of battle droids are no match for some old school sword-and-shieldin’! It seriously feels as though we’ve gone back in time. Seeing these droids, these locations, even just the classic image of a tactical droid observing the battle, flanked by battle droids, is beautifully familiar. It’s not long before the team absolutely owns it. Oh and this: “I am not programmed to comprehend your humor” “I wasn’t joking” “Ha. Ha. Ha.” XD Well Kalani thinks some things are funny, I do suppose… like siccing his destroyers on the “Republic soldiers”. Ezra volunteers to go on ahead while the Captain and the General take on the next battle droid wave. Ez got a little sidetracked though as Chop showed up, the astromech insistent on showing him his amazing find. Though he still comes through and uses the Force to bash the destroyers, his delay caused a few problems for his comrades. Rex took a hit to the shoulder and Kanan just barely fended the battle droids off before Ezra dealt with ’em. Rex was OK, but completely not happy with Ezra. It’s not a game, it’s life and death, and he strongly insists Bridger stick to the plan if they want to survive this. Ezra had reasons for the delay, reasons that will help them out later, but Captain Rex is in full-on Clone Wars mode right now and don’t wanna hear it. I can understand both sides. Ezra and I are alike in that way sometimes we accidentally screw up and get chewed out for something we had no intention of. But with Rex, we’re re-reminded this episode that he’s a clone, bred for a war he spent years of his life fighting. He hasn’t lost that instinct to fight, to protect, to lead. He’s become something of a regular human in some ways since joining up with the Ghost crew, helping lead the Rebs as well as becoming a friend and grandpa-figure to the crew-fam. It’s not that I ever truly forgot who he once was, but I’ve been loving seeing him in this “regular human” role for so long I’d never considered how he might still be carrying the Clone Wars with him. Shoot I don’t know how to segue back to the story now after all those deep thoughts. Anyway, so it looks like Ez was going to make a point to stick to the plan from here on out. And oh look more droidekas. They may be tough but they can still blast like destroyers half their age (for the most part anyway). The “best use of unconventional weapon” award goes to Rex for nailing that one with his helmet. I mean, whoa so BOSS. Just like that the Republic soldiers — I mean Rebels — made it back to the control center. Total win for our heroes right? Ezra’s calling shenanigans. The only reason they got as far as they did is that the destroyers were really old, so it wasn’t a fair fight. And then a simple thought: who actually won the Clone Wars? The Empire. About then when an Imperial fleet actually showed up. Oooh boy. The battle droids were so nice and polite when they went out to greet the stormtroopers! And all the bucketheads did is blast ’em! And walk their AT-ATs all over ’em! OMG rude! Ezra makes the mind-blowing statement that maybe the Republic and the Separatists don’t need to be fighting each other… they need to be fighting their common enemy, the Empire. May sound sorta crazy, but that’s logic both Rex and Kalani can agree on. *Slow clap* Ezra, what you just did there is amazing. And everything that follows is amazing. A clone captain and a tactical droid working on a plan, battle droids and Jedi blasting AT-ATs, droidekas firing at AT-STs… it’s one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen. Something I never would’ve imagined I’d get to see happen, but I’m so glad I did. As I’ve said before, Lucasfilm knows what I want to see before even I know it. Moment of silence, though, for the battle droid shuttle that didn’t make it. They were some of the nicest battle droids ever to grace the galaxy. But together, these two opposite ends of the spectrum were able to give the Empire a fight and made it safely offworld. The Republic and the Separatists just won the Clone Wars for good, thanks to a wise young man who saw past the politics to the truth. Now the droids and our Rebs go separate ways, with the Captain’s burden lifted, and a shuttle that might just be the Phantom Mark II. Anyone else getting a little misty? And then came the credits, beautiful intertwining the Rebels theme with that of The Clone Wars. ALL. THE. FEELS. After watching I was definitely hungry for some more classic Clone Wars adventures. And y’know that’s one of my favorite things about this episode. The Clone Wars were some dark times on both sides of the war. Palpatine rigged the whole thing for his own gain and both Republic and Separatists suffered because of it. The Last Battle was the perfect redeeming capper on all of this, giving both sides a chance to fight back together. It’s indescribably amazing. As I’ve said before, for all of Palpatine’s planning and plotting, he couldn’t keep good from coming out of it. Not even those sweet dorky don’t-ask-questions-just-shoot-what-you’re-told-to battle droids. And yeah I’m definitely going to have to elaborate further in more posts in the future. Still got a lot of stuff about TCW and Captain Rex to talk about! 😀

Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

