Rebel Transmissions: The Holocrons Of Fate

If some deep Rebels discussion is the kind of knowledge you’re seeking and just what you’re hopin’ for, no need to smash two holocrons together — you’re already in the right place! Pff OK I’m probably giving myself more credit than I deserve but I certainly do hope you get something out of this…
NOTE: Contains spoilers from Episode I, Episode VI, Episode VII, The Clone Wars “Siege Of Mandalore” arc, Rebels episodes Twilight Of The Apprentice, Steps Into Shadow, and The Holocrons Of Fate

Ah, it’s so very nice seeing Ezra and Kanan chatting like they used to! They spent much of the last episode out of balance, so it feels great getting an episode focused mostly on the unconventional master-and-padawan-team. Granted, they’re chatting about the Sith holocron, which you’d think by now would be old news, but Ezra just sorta kinda really wants to know where it is. After all, Ezra reasons, why else did Yoda send them to Malachor if not for all that Sith-destroying knowledge? Kanan believes it was for the chance to defeat them, it just… didn’t go well. Y’know that’s one question I’ve been pondering for a while but never really queried on the blog itself. Why Malachor when it seemed to do more harm than good? Not that Yoda could’ve known what would happen, but what specifically did he have in mind when he pointed the Jedi Rebels in that direction? Was it for a chance like Kanan has surmised? I kinda doubt messing with the dark side was what the master had in mind, but we may never know for sure. Just gotta do like Sabine in season one and trust that everything’ll make sense in the end. But their chat’s put on hold as they come upon a Rebel transport that’s been torn apart. The sole survivor makes mention of a red blade… and the unfortunate fact he was forced to spill his guts on the Ghost‘s location. Ezra and Kanan immediately think they’ve got another inquisitor problem. IDK man the Empire’s lost, like, four in the last couple years; it’s not the best investment. No, the one wielding the red blade is not working for the Empire… he just wields one for the sheer fun of it. Dude… when Maul stepped into the holo from behind Hera… I think my heart stopped. It’s not like I didn’t know he was gonna be involved this episode, but I had no idea it’d be so soon. And I was already nervous about this one to begin with. It’s a well-known fact that when the former Darth gets involved, things will end badly… one way or another. Anyone who’s spent any time watching The Clone Wars will know this. Heck, even if your only knowledge of him was gained from Twilight Of The Apprentice, you know this. So him… on board the Ghost… with the people most important to Kanan and Ezra… O_O It’s NBD really Maul just wants the Sith ‘cron back. And also Kanan’s old Jedi ‘cron. Some Jedi might’ve called no deal, but these Jedi go along with it… reluctantly. At this point I’m relieved nobody’s died yet (I mean, this is Maul we’re talking about), but I’m also a little concerned what will happen to the rest of the galaxy if they take up this offer. Right now they’ve got bigger fish to fry though… getting that Sith holocron’s gonna be a bit of a challenge.
So again, MAUL. IN THE GHOST. WITH KANAN AND EZRA’S FAMILY-CREW. And did I mention the former Mandalore welcome-wagon droids that are now deadly blaster-wielders? *Faints from terror* I spent the entirety of this episode literally quivering. And honestly there’s no reason I shouldn’tve been… he killed Qui-Gon, killed Satine, blinded Kanan… and he did it all so quickly, so out-of-nowhere, and in turn left me in tears. I was trying to prepare myself for the worst, but I knew I’d still be unprepared either way. Every breathing second I was on edge. So when he asks Hera for a tour by not really asking ’cause he had his lightsaber all up in her face… shoot there’s no emoticon I can type that properly defines the feeling of sheer terror running through me at that moment. The Old Master’s really only interested in the part of the tour where he finds Kanan’s ‘cron. Doesn’t stop him from making some color commentary on the others quarters onboard though. DUDE THAT RUDENESS WAS UNCALLED FOR. WHO SPIT IN YOUR BEAN CURD? Though it does make you wonder a little what Ezra and Zeb’s room smells like. We already know that evidently Zeb has a particularly strong scent, and apparently Ezra kinda smells like Lothal sewers (or at least did). I’m gonna say it probably resembles a mixture of corn chips, sweat, and body spray XP Sorry that probably wasn’t the knowledge you were looking for. But hey, one thing I love about SW is its tangibleness, its relatability, just how very real it is, down to the finest details. Now enough weirdness, once Maul finally enters Kanan’s quarters things get real. Maul won’t just search the premises himself, oh no, that would be too much work for an old zabrak like himself. It’s so much easier to do a little dark side mindreading like Kylo Ren made famous. Oh gosh that was horrifying to watch. I mean, when he uttered Kanan’s former name I got literal chills. Hera’s been a complete bosslady this whole time and peppered her captor with sass and shot him well-aimed death glares, but that in that instant she no longer looks as certain. She looks so broken and ashamed when Maul comes upon the holocron… πŸ˜₯ All my messed-up emotions aside, it’s actually still pretty cool watching him do that move; I had no idea anybody but Kylo knew how to do it, so that begs a few questions. Or it could just be a move darksiders don’t do a lot for some reason. Either way *shudders*
Elsewhere, Ezra finally got to meet Kanan’s good friend, the Bendu. Right after he borrowed their sensor-pole (or “thumper” as I now know they’re called) and invited the spidercrabs over for a visit. Ezra knows good and well these crawlers are trouble, and he doesn’t hesitate to defend his master, despite Kanan’s objections. It’s about then when the Bendu finally arrives in his magnificent, awe-inspiring way. Ezra is kinda shocked ’cause he wasn’t sure this Bendu guy was actually real. Kanan’s smile I’m sure is partly due to hearing the friendly beast’s voice again, but I imagine there was a dash of I-told-you-so smugness in there too πŸ™‚ After hearing of Maul’s interest in the holocrons, Bendu believes he’s intending to combine the two ‘crons — something that could potentially cause some big problems. When you mix a Jedi holocron and a Sith holocron, you get the potential to see the future or have a question answered through the Force… which sounds good on the surface, but this has happened before and it does not end well. OK Wow. Ezra doesn’t really care what Maul’s gonna do with it, he just wants to protect the fam. The Bendu tells Ez that if he wants that imbalance-causing pyramid, he’s gonna have to find it with Kanan’s help. Also it may be in a dark mysterious cave. Had everything gone Ez’s way he’dve gone completely alone with his lightsaber at his side, but instead all he’s got when he enters that cave is a flashlight and Kanan on the com. He might not a fan of this plan now, but he’ll definitely be a fan later…
Back on the Ghost, Maul was yelling at a smol blue box. I’m sorry man this made me laugh so hard even though it shouldn’t have. Mostly it’s because I started imagining him reacting the same way with other small objects. Smartphones, TV remotes, frozen entrees… “YOU WILL YIELD TO MY POWERRRR!” XD While he tries to crack open Kanan’s ‘cron, the crew decides to make their move. Oh goodness gracious I love love this scene. Maul is one of the deadliest villains in the SW galaxy, but he don’t scare the Ghost fam. Sabine, Hera, and Zeb utterly tear up those smiley-droids with the hands cuffed! And then they magnetize him to the ceiling! Oh that was so awesomely genius I just love it! These guys never fail to blow my mind with their awesome genius! Of course then Maul eventually got off the ceiling and got the upper hand and made clear he had no problem killing them. But it was a great stunt regardless. Aw boo Maul why ya gotta be like that? But hey, he still hadn’t killed anyone so that’s a win if nothing else.
So getting the Sith ‘cron was going great. Sorta. Maybe it would’ve gone better if Ezra had just kept to the left like Kanan told him to. Instead he walks down the right tunnel and loses his flashlight and his comlink just like that. Now it all up to Master Jarrus. “Perhaps master and apprentice will rediscover their balance… or perhaps they will be eaten. Such is the way of things.” Bendu just tells it like it is XD Yeah Ezra was a little surprised when Kanan fished him out of that crawler-infested hole. And again when his master calmly Force-connected with another crabspider and it quietly walked away. Could it be Kanan’s not as broken as he believed? As they continue their search, Ezra apologizes for what he felt he allowed to happen. Kanan assures Ezra it wasn’t his fault and he didn’t blame him. The only forgiving that needs to be done here is for young Bridger to forgive himself. The hug that follows gives me alllllllll the feels. I’d believed they’d come back into balance at the end of the last episode, but actually… this is where the real balance was restored. And it is a beautiful thing. And that’s all I got; I should have more to say but I lost my train of thought dangit. All I know is Bendu’s smile matches my own :3 Don’t worry I’ll figure this out by the time I do the season recap! Anyway, so together Ezra and Kanan come upon the Sith ‘cron at last, perched safely on a spider’s back. You’d think that wasn’t the safest safest place ever, since I’d figure it’d get lost if the spider moved around and dropped it or something, but I guess the Bendu knows something we don’t. Using the Force they’re able to get the ‘cron without a hitch. Of course soon as Ezra turns around oh look there’s another crawler/spider//spidercrab/crabspider/whatever the canon name’s supposed to be! Kanan’s response? “Don’t be a threat, go in peace” And suddenly I understood the spider-Force connection I’d been missing last episode. And just like that, master and apprentice walked out of the cave unscathed and truly back in sync. Bendu is proud of their progress, but warns them that their troubles aren’t over, as one of them’ll have to help with the ‘cron-combining too. And well… you know. Potentially dangerous stuff, that knowledge. Ezra looks to Kanan for their game plan from here, but all his master knows is they’ve gotta relax and not let Maul’s fear tactics get to them. “You don’t sound relaxed” “But I look relaxed.” At least you look relaxed Ez, I don’t look or sound that way! I’m a quivering little chihuahua over here! Especially as they stepped into the hangar and there’s Maul looking chill like nothing’s weird. He sends “his” apprentice off to go get the holocrons ready while he shows Master Jarrus the door. And by “door” I mean “airlock”. I’d already seen this clip at Celebration but it didn’t make it any less terrifying a second time. Or a third time. Or any other time. I don’t think I’ve made clear enough how terrifying this is: KANAN HAS BEEN SUCKED OUT INTO COLD DARK UNPREDICTABLE SPACE. I literally couldn’t breathe. By far that was the longest twenty seconds of my life. HE HAD ICE FORMING ON HIM, MAN. The instant I noticed that I was shook. One of the closest calls in SW history right there, but also one seriously seriously amazing use of the Force. Seriously. And I have run out of words again. Forgive me the feels are too much.
With ‘crons in hand, Ezra and Maul are ready to get this junk over with. I couldn’t help but keep wondering if Ezra had another plan, like maybe to get Maul to ask the holocron a dumb question or something (“why is blue milk blue?” perhaps). But it seems Ez is ready to take advantage of the opportunity. He wants to find out how to destroy the Sith, while the Old Master is looking for… hope. I know I’m not the only one who found that utterly fascinating. It first took me back to Malachor, to the time we briefly saw Maul’s humanity. His life has been so full of failure and darkness, a little hope could change everything. In my everyday life “hope” is a beautiful word, but for Maul… I imagine it’s something entirely different. Especially where he is now as he desperately seeks purpose and a legacy. And then the holocrons came together, emitting a light that grows more and more intense with the possibility the darksider and the lightsider will find the answers they’re looking for…
Things looked pretty grim for the Ghost crew as Maul’s mechs draw their weapons. But in a flash, Kanan jumps in and lightsabers the smiley-droids apart in one fell swoop. And then uses the Force to snap his comrades’ cuffs clean off. It was impossible not to cheer. KANAN IS A BOSS. I don’t exaggerate when I say I feel this is one of his most defining moments. So much wow. Now he’s got his apprentice to rescue, and Hera and company are by his side all the way. YAYYYYYY FAMILYYYYY ^w^
So far Maul hadn’t had much luck finding any answers, but Ezra dug in deeper as he began to see something. By the time the rest of Ghost crew got there, the room was bathed in blinding light. None of them could see — except Kanan. He could actually see Ezra and Maul amidst the bright flash of the Force, and he was gonna get Ez out of there. Padawan was a little busy atm tho he really wanted them answers. Kanan calls for him, reiterating Bendu’s warning. Maul insists he keep it up ’cause they’re so close. And then… “I SEE HIM…” “TWIN SUNS…” O.O His master voices once more to look away, and finally Ezra takes the ‘crons apart, releasing them from the light and ending their Q&A session with the Force. Oh gosh I’m completely butchering this, but the important thing is, everyone’s OK. Including Maul who seems a little too happy right now as he flies off muttering “HE LIVES!“. Before we talk about anything else I gotta talk about that. My instant thought was Obi-Wan. ‘Cause man I can’t think of anyone else Maul would be that excited about. And then I thought OK if that happens then what if Maul goes after someone his adversary cares about? Like a certain Force-sensitive boy he’s watching over? The idea is utterly gutwrenching. My only comfort is that, well, I certainly would love to see ol’ Ben again! But otherwise yeah dis is bad. I could be totally off but don’t tell me you didn’t think it, too. Anyway, as for Ezra, he isn’t sure what he saw except for a lot of places. What it says to me is he saw hints of Luke’s journey, maybe even some of Anakin’s. I didn’t think about this until after the episode, but though clearly the dark side lives on (See: the Knights of Ren), Vader defeating Palpatine really was the destruction of the Sith, at least the group known as the Sith. Though we all know that story, I look forward to seeing further how this incredible crew influences that story. And how, in small ways, they help bring about that destiny.
Welp I hope that made sense. I hate that I didn’t do as well on this, because this is truly an incredible incredible episode. Things are super-tense and super-terrifying with twists at every turn, but by the end of the episode there’s a sense of victory. Yeah I know Maul’ll be back… but scary as he is, I’m kinda looking forward to seeing him again πŸ™‚ OK I’m done sorry for the trainwreck post next week will be better byeeeee.

Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

