Following The Freemakers: The Test

It’s Freemaker time again! And have we got a lot to talk about today! So that’s why I’m cutting short the usual long rambly opener so we can study The Test together šŸ™‚ Hehe yeah if Star Wars were a school subject, I’d be acing it! Well maybe not acing it acing it, considering the times I misunderstand stuff and misspell stuff but hopefully I’d at least be getting a B+…
NOTE: Contains spoilers from Episode II, Episode VII, Rebels episodes Always Two There Are and Brothers Of The Broken Horn, and Freemakers episodes A Hero Discovered, Peril On Kashyyyk, Race On Tatooine, and The Test

I remember writing a while back that, though I was really enjoying the often-humorous daily tension of who Naare really was vs. who the Freemakers thought she was, I was kinda terrified as to what would happen when the other shoe would drop. Because the instant they found out who she really was… ooooh boy… things were gonna get really real. It was a beautiful day on The Wheel and it seemed nothing was out of the ordinary. Until Naare rang the doorbell and the Freemakers wouldn’t open it. Unfortunately when one wields a lightsaber doors don’t typically stay closed for long. I’d stupidly half-expected the Darksider-next-door to walk right into a surprise party… but as she catches the family in the process of packing their bags, it’s evident she no longer has the fan club she had last episode. Because ROWAN KNOWS. And wielding her red-blade, it’s clear his family knows too. “…the Jedi are all gone. Destroyed… by people like me.” I can’t express how much that line terrified me. THERE HAVE BEEN OTHERS SHE HAS DECEIVED. AND KILLED. Naare is basically an unofficial inquisitor. I’d theorized she might’ve been trained by inquisitors but I had no idea she’d done this before. All I can say is she is one very scary lady. *Shudders* But Rowan’s not alone in this fight, because he has Kordi and Zander (and technically R0-GR too but let’s be honest he’s not all that helpful right now). They’re somehow able to board the StarScavenger just in time, but their foe literally Force-grabs the ship. Comparably it took two inquisitors just to grab the considerably-smaller Phantom back on Rebels. Good night she’s powerful. I’m guessing that was a trick the higher-up Darksiders taught her. But Rowan also knows that it’s hard to keep your concentration when someone’s firing at you and mans the guns. Which it then occurred to me “oh right their ship does have a weapons system.” They hadn’t really shot anything I don’t think since the Imperial freighter in the pilot so for some reason I’d forgotten they could at all. I’m thinking just as a whole they don’t shoot at people if they feel they really don’t have to, which says something about this beautiful family’s morals. But yeah I think they have full license to shoot at Naare right now. But if you think for a second that that’s going to stop this Sith-y sort you’re dead wrong. ‘Cause now here comes the Eclipse fighter! And she’s enjoying blasting their ship wayyyy more than she should. After a few perilous turns, Naare sends them a holo, making a deal that I guarantee she’ll alter further. Zander calls no deal and charges the Eclipse dead-on, which masterfully tears her ship apart. Is it wrong I applauded? Naare challenges them, promising she’ll come after them if they don’t just destroy her now. They had the opportunity and all the reason in the galaxy to do so, but Zander simply sends the StarScavenger into hyperspace. Like I was saying, the Freemakers have more morals than most these days. And seeing Zan step up like this is really great. It obviously stung for him to realize his crush is an absolute monster, but when the lives of his brother and sister are in question, he knows where his true loyalties lie. But even then, after all she’s done, he still doesn’t take the shot. Blasting people is just not the way he rolls, even when certain people don’t deserve that kind of mercy. ZANDER FREEMAKER YOU ARE AN AMAZING PERSON. ‘Course, Roger knew all along she wasn’t trustworthy, just by his past experience with Jedi, “the bad guys of the Clone Wars”. Zander and Kordi set him straight by explaining a) Naare’s not a Jedi and b) technically battle droids were “the bad guys”. Roger is horrified and literally deletes the last few minutes from his memory so he never heard such a thing. OK so that answers a lot of questions about battle droids and free will. I guess it turns out they were just an extremely loyal bunch who never once thought that maybe they were doing the wrong thing, even when their superiors were killing innocents and being all-around jerks. Fascinating. But of all the Freemakers, Rowan’s the one hurting the most right now. Naare had made him feel special, making him believe he would be a great Jedi and hero. Now, he doesn’t believe he’s any of those things. I about started bawling there NUUUU DON’T SAY THAT LET ME HUG YOU CHILDDDD! But before Kordi can say anything their ship’s damage throws them out of hyperspace and they find themselves crash-landing. Zander does bring up a good point do starships actually have brakes? And if they don’t, why don’t they? But I found myself taking note how very green this planet is… and also oh look there’a castle right there. Wait are we on Takodana?? Otherwise known as one of my favorite new SW planets?? Oh right they were crash-landing. Well the good news is they managed to come to a stop without utterly destroying anything! “ZANDER FREEMAKER: SUPERSTAR PILOT GUY!” Pfff the looks Kordi and Rowan shot him I died laughing. “Only in your mind, my very young apprentice.” XD Oh right usually when someone gives you the good news there’s usually some bad news that follows. The bad news is, though they didn’t utterly destroy anything, they did slightly dent a ship and its crew was none too happy. And guess who its owner was? HONDO. OHNAKA. AHHHHHHHHHHHHH #OHNAKAFEVER IS REALLLLLLLL AGAIN. So I’m figuring things’ll go OK at this point, ’cause these days the old pirate’s a decent guy, right? Welp um… you see… back in Rebels, Hondo was on his own and didn’t have a crew or a ship or anything. So being a decent guy was kind of all he could do. Now as you might notice he has a ship and a crew and that crew has I think Grumgar on it so… Captain Ohnaka is back in business. And he’s got a pirate-y reputation to keep. Gotta say it was a really genius move to make Hondo more of the bad guy again after we’ve kinda gotten used to his nice-ish self in Rebels. But either way, I love him and I love seeing him finally make his way to the Lego SW side of things. Besides, we’ve got MAZ KANATA to keep him in check. Oooh my gracious goodness I’m sorry I haven’t really had a chance to talk about Maz much these days but she is so so so so awesome. The Pirate Queen ain’t takin’ any sass from one of her “subjects”! Especially not Captain Ohnaka here. Can I just say seeing Maz and Hondo in the same room is one of the most wonderful things I’ve ever seen in my life? Seriously. Her bossladyness up against his roguish charm is a delight. As long as Hondo’s still making mischief in SWR, I’d sure like to see him run into Maz again while we’re at it. Anyway, so Maz insists Hondo work it out with the kids peacefully, and so he decides to give them a little job. But as he fills the Freemakers in, Rowan finds himself drawn to something in the castle… I admit I kinda forgot about the Kyber Saber crystals for a second and thought “Wow did she have Luke’s old ‘saber already? Wait a darn second only Rey’s allowed to find that!” by the end of the episode everything made sense though. Maz is curious what it is he was seeking. Though I wouldn’t put it past her that she might already know. I mean, she is Maz Kanata after all. She just knows things. Augh I need to watch The Force Awakens again hurry up and release already 3D Deluxe Blu-Ray!! So the job is simple: grab a few golden orbs from Takodana’s third moon and bring ’em back. Simple enough, if they can survive the trip, ’cause all they’ve got to get there is their little scavenger-scooper thing. And with three people and a droid in there, there’s not much elbow room. And for anyone who’s ever traveled in a packed vehicle (including myself), you know that the drive is half the battle.
As for Naare, she had no choice but to land the Eclipse back in the Freemakers’ hangar. And just as soon as she got there, Graballa and his gang show up. She absolutely don’t need their crud right now and sends that message via lightsaber-ing and Force-throwing. The Hutt’s completely fine with calling it quits at this point. But once Naare sees they both want the same thing, she sees a new opportunity. They fix her fighter and she’ll give them half the crystals. And they’ll even work together to find Rowan. Sounds like a plan! Sure it’s not a plan that will likely end well for Graballa, knowing how Naare works, but it’s still one plan more than anyone else has right now. Yeah this will most definitely a problem for our heroes. And whether you’ve seen how the season ends or not, you just know…
Yep that little scooper is not by any means a family vehicle. I’m not sure it should be even allowed for space travel with four individuals in it. Good thing that moon was right nearby ’cause then it probably would’ve gone a lot worse… and that’s saying something. So they find their sinkhole where the orbs were supposed to be, but they also found a large herd of VARACTYLS. Remember a few blogs ago when I briefly fangirled over the presence of a varactyl in the dejarik game but remembered varactyls aren’t a playable creature in any other dejarik game we’ve ever seen so I just assumed my fangirliness was making me see things? Well, first of all, I watched that episode again and found out I was right to begin with. Second of all AHAHAHHAHHAAAA LOOK AT ALL THE PURTY VARACTYLLLLLLS!!! And they’re so detailed! So much more detailed than previous Lego versions! Thank you Lego SW for giving more of these amazing feathery reptiles, thank you! Although I would be quick to run over and hug them all, the Freemakers are a little more concerned because they’d rather not get eaten. Zander decides their best move is to wait until nightfall and grab the orbs while they sleep. The plan from there is for Kordi and Zander to lower Roger into the sinkhole while Rowan keeps an eye out for trouble, a job that both Roger and Ro aren’t thrilled about. Kordi felt it was best Rowan get an easier job after all that’s happened, but I can’t help but think this whole job might’ve gone easier had they had someone other than their three-fingered droid getting the goods. Especially when Kordi decides they should grab a few extra for themselves. It doesn’t take long for him to drop the orbs and awaken the beasts. And them beasts ain’t happy whatsoever. With the scooper falling apart and Roger torn to pieces, it looks like Rowan’s all they’ve got left. With only the red-blade by his side, Rowan takes a spectacular leap of faith and of Force as he rushes in to defend his family. However, not long after he gets down there, he starts to sense what the varactyls are feeling, and it’s a feeling he can relate to. The pain of uncertainty. The fear of loss. But also the fierce love of family. These orbs are eggs, and for all their desperation to survive, and their own fear and pain, the Freemakers aren’t about to let their gain be someone else’s loss. FEEEEEEEEEEEEEEELS. Also OHMYGOSHOHMYGOSHOHMYGOSH BABY VARACTYLS!!!! THEY’RE SO TINEH AND THEY MEW LIKE KITTENS OHMYGOSH I CAN’T IT’S TOO PRECIOUS. X3 X3 X3 THANK YOU LEGO STAR WARS THANK YOU SO MUCHHHH ā¤ ā¤ *Falls to knees sobbing with joy* It's like they know what I'd like to see in SW before I even do. Anyway, so as the new varactyl families play together, Kordi makes clear to her little brother that he was wrong about himself — "You are special. You’re the most special kid in the whole galaxy!” and so all of the family feels going on sent me into a coma of warm fuzzies. But I didn’t stay that way for long because I still needed to know what the Freemakers’ next move was. Yeah Hondo knew they were eggs, and he wasn’t terribly thrilled he didn’t get any because they could’ve gotten him some mighty fine creds. Remind me never ever to cross Captain Ohnaka when he’s got a crew because before they knew it, our heroes were surrounded at all ends by blasters O.O That’s about when a flying cup smacked Hondo in the head. Maz has a serious problem with Hondo taking advantage of a bunch of kids and smacks him with glassware and mugs until he and his crew finally vamoose. You go, Pirate Queen! Good seeing ya Hondo. Even if this wasn’t one of your more shining moments šŸ˜› I hope to see you again soon! Just maybe as an ally next time, mkay? Anyhow, Maz does her awesome thing and decides to help out our heroes. She literally pulls the exact part they need out of a set of drawers. She’s amazing, but you knew that. And then… out of a heavily-locked set of drawers, she hands Rowan a Kyber Saber fragment. I think it’s safe to say, yeah, she knew what he was looking for all along. With that, she sends the Freemakers on their way. But not before giving Ro a small piece of advice — to seek out the Maker of Zoh when things get desperate. The youngest Freemaker isn’t sure what that means, but I know from experience… when Maz Kanata tells you something, you better remember it šŸ™‚
Oh yes I just love this one! Another exceptional adventure loaded with excitement and laughs and feels and basically everything! I’d keep going on about how much I love the show and this episode but I figure you’re bored with me by now so I’ll just stop talking.

Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

