A [Fangirly] Analysis Of The New Rogue One Trailer

Last week was my birthday, and Lucasfilm gave me one of the best gifts ever — a new trailer for Rogue One. I enjoy the Olympics, but that night was all about my Star Wars! It felt like an absolutely painstaking wait, but oh my land it was worth it when it got here! Happy birthday to me! So in the tradition of trailers past, I now give you my second-by-second analysis. Or really not so much of an analysis as what I was thinking at the time. And my thoughts on this’ll be pretty fresh because I’ve only seen it once at this point. Now first, let’s watch it again.

AHHAHHAHAHAHA THAT WAS SO AWESOME. NOW LET’S GET THE SPOILERS OUT OF THE WAY AND TALK BEFORE I EXPLODE.

NOTE: Contains spoilers from the trailer you just saw (obv) as well as some light stuff from Episode IV and TCW. Honestly I’m not really sure they’re spoilers but just being careful.

0:00 – After seeing many many many commercials for Olympics sponsors, it took me a second to realize what this was.
0:02 – And then I saw the TIE fighters and was all “HOLY CRUD IT’S STAR WARS!!!!!”
0:04 – Seriously beautiful planet though. It almost looks like Coruscant…? I don’t think it is, but that would be really cool if it was.
0:06 – YAY IT’S JYNNNNNN.
0:08 – YAY IT’S SAWWWWWWW.
0:13 – Oh well that’s not good.
0:15 – Shiny logo shiny logo.
0:20 – Shackles?? What you been doin’ Jyn? By the look Cassian’s giving her it must’ve been something awful. Probably TP’d the base. *SHOT*
0:22 – Jyn ain’t gonna make it easy for anyone today. I respect that.
0:23 – OMG IT’S MON MOTHMA AGAIN AND IT STILL BLOWS MY MIND HOW PERFECT A MON MOTHMA SHE IS!
0:25 – Cassian and Jyn are all “O RLY?”
0:28 – Whoa look at the size of that Star Destroyer.
0:32 – …But that’s nothin’ compared to the battle station next to it. Holy cow.
0:39 – Jyn quietly throwing on the sass again.
0:42 – Cassian takes it all in stride. AHHHHHH I LOVE THESE TWO.
0:44 – Oh those poor pilots… also Jyn’s scarf game is on-point.
0:46 – Look at that dark stormy place wow. Wonder if it’s a whole stormy planet or just a small area on some planet…
0:48 – YESSSS SHOOT ALL THE THINGS BAZE BRO.
0:52 – AHMG THAT CANYON PLANET IS SO BEAUTIFUL.
0:56 – Chirrut don’t need your crud he’s got the Force. I’m still super fascinated by the whole not-Force-sensitive-but-believes-in-the-Force thing and I can’t wait to learn more about him.
0:58 – Bro is an absolute boss. Can I just say I love this guy? Like seriously.
1:00 – And here’s K-2SO! And he’s HUGE whoa.
1:03 – *Utterly dies laughing* Yay friendship…!
1:04 – Jyn’s “Thanks” is the perfect capper XD
1:08 – OH DANG IT’S THE DEATH STAR AGAIN AND IT IS SCARY. I FORGOT HOW SCARY IT WAS.
1:09 – More beautiful imagery seriously I can’t stop talking about it.
1:12 – Krennic’s cape game strong.
1:13 – He is amazing. And terrifying. I can tell he’ll be a perfect adversary. That gaze of his just pierces your soul.
1:15 – NUUUUU I CAHN’T WAIT ‘TIL DECEMBERRRRR.
1:18 – These camera angles, these shots… they are so real and gritty and beautiful I can’t…!
1:26 – Thank you Kaytoo for snapping me out of my awe-induced coma. At least he’s honest! XD
1:28 – I’m sure he does Cassian.
1:29 – And Saw be like O_O
1:31 – *Flails around fangirling over the beautiful imagery again and has nothing useful to say*
1:36 – Jyn’s sense of hope is contagious and gives me many feels.
1:37 – AHHHHH SAW’S LITTLE SMILE THAT WAS THE SWEETEST THINGGGG!!
1:41 – Oh, the adventure that awaits us! I can hardly stand the wait!
1:45 – JYN STARING DOWN THAT TIE. THERE ARE NO WORDS.
1:49 – THE TEAMWORKNESS AND FRIENDSHIPNESS IT IS BEAUTIFUL.
1:53 – FOURMOREMONTHSFOURMOREMONTHSFOURMOREMONTHS.
1:56 – The exact sound I made was “eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!” and then I immediately turned to my brother (who was watching it with me) and whisper-screamed “DID YOU SEE DARTH VADER?!?!?!?!?! IT’S DARTH VADER!!!!!
1:58 – And at this point I still have not recovered. Just giving me the insanely beautiful trailer would’ve been enough, but seeing the smallest glint of the Darth made it beyond anything I could’ve ever imagined for a trailer. *Keels over from all the feels*

That never fails to amaze me and make me all kinds of giddy. I’m sorry I haven’t talked about it more, but I am so so thrilled to be entering this new exciting chapter in SW history. The chapter where the Star Wars Stories begin. I can hardly wait. And that’s an understatement. I have no clue how to put my thoughts into words right now, so I’ll just leave you with four.

Vive La Star Wars.

Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

