Padawanline Anniversary II: Year Two

Hehe the title may or may not be a nod to Rogue One… but yeah it’s probably not my best Star Wars pun…
So anyhow today marks my two-year anniversary since Padawanline came into existence! I’ve told you the blog’s backstory before (read here), how I absolutely needed a place to talk about Star Wars to anyone who would listen and how a goofy SW fanfic of mine inspired the title and all that. So I’m not going to bore you with all that again (at least not this year), but I absolutely needed to write a thank you letter to my followers and readers…
NOTE: Contains spoilers from the Rebels episode Fire Across The Galaxy

When I first joined, I just blogged whatever whenever I felt like it, meaning sometimes I’d go for weeks without posting something. But this past year has given me a great opportunity to do what I’d always wanted to do.
Back in early 2013, as I was continuing to expand my Star Wars knowledge every day, I would always take notice of things. I’d be watching a new episode of TCW or reading a book or watching one of the movies and suddenly find myself intrigued by something, confused by something I didn’t fully understand, made a fascinating connection with something, or just plain WOWed by something, and when that would happen, I couldn’t keep quiet about it. I’d talk my brother’s ear off, I’d jot down notes, sometimes I’d just flat-out talk to myself about it! And thus I had to make this blog, so I could organize these thoughts and people who were just as into SW as I was could read them!
During the first year, though, I found it’s often hard to write, and I can talk faster than I can type, so sometimes I would just keep my thoughts to myself instead of making posts on them. If you’ve ever written a blog, you can understand this difficulty. But this past year… things definitely changed. The Lost Missions and Star Wars Rebels allowed me do what I always wanted to do… to talk about SW as it was happening, as I was seeing them! And before I knew it, I would be blogging almost every single week. With the exception of a few breaks, I’ve been blogging consistently since September 2014! Especially once Rebels started… it became the norm to sit down, grab a snack, log into WordPress, open up whatever the Rebels episode of the week was, and start writing. A 22-minute episode became 2 hours within the course of that time, and while it wasn’t always easy, and some days I didn’t always feel like doing it, the end result was always worthwhile!
I look back now feeling incredibly blessed to have been part of this. As I’ve said a thousand times before, it’s an amazing time to be a SW fan right now, and being able to talk about it and write about it as it happens is absolutely amazing.
You know that header image up there with that sunset-colored screencap from Duel Of The Droids? I picked that because, at the time, I wasn’t sure what else to use, and intended to later find a better picture (I’d originally wanted to find a high-res pic of that art piece of Luke and Anakin from the Saga Blu-Ray). But now looking back, I realize that screencap couldn’t be more perfect. That image encompasses the feeling of being a new Star Wars fan… you look out and in front of you lies miles worth of stories told and stories to be told. It can be kind of intimidating at first, but with friends in the fandom by your side, you can have the confidence to run out and jump into it, calling out “Follow me, boys”! And having been a true-blue SW fan for only around four years now, I can speak from experience.
As I have also said many times before, I am very much Ahsoka. I gravitated to her quickly even when I didn’t fully understand Star Wars, not only because she’s an incredibly awesome character, but also because she was a lot like me… a girl caught up in the middle of a war she didn’t fully understand. While she grew up, I grew in my understanding of these incredible stories. She was a huge key for me in my love of SW. If I’d never found myself liking her and relating to her character… I might’ve never decided to dig further into The Clone Wars and the Prequels and the Originals and everything else! So thus it truly made me cry buckets of happy tears when Ahsoka stepped into Rebels. We indeed both “grew up” together 🙂 I understand SW to a much deeper extent than I did two years ago, let alone four or five years ago, and Ahsoka’s helping lead the Rebel Alliance! Who’da thunk we’d end up where we did? But that’s just the magic of being a Star Wars fan and making the decision to jump out of that gunship 😀
Having this blog has helped me much in learning and understanding the SW Galaxy and has played a part in making me love these stories even more than I ever possibly could, to the point I was literally shaking and crying watching that Episode VII teaser. Amazing how it all comes together, doesn’t it? Being a Star Wars fangirl is seriously amazing. Just is.
And I, for one, am glad I not only jumped out of that gunship, but decided to write about how that felt.
So I absolutely just had to say “thank you” to everyone who has supported this blog on both WordPress and tumblr. I cannot thank you enough. This blog has exploded like the Death Star this past year and I truly don’t know where I’d be without my fellow Star Wars fans. Thanks for putting up with all my insane fangirly fangirliness and my overuse of the words “feels”, “ermagosh”, and “squee” and somehow getting something out of this blog. And though I have not heard everyone’s response to the blog, those of you who have reblogged a post on tumblr and said something nice about it … you guys are absolutely beyond awesome and deserve a medal ceremony. But really all you readers and followers deserve medals and as many “thank-yous” as there are stars in the galaxy and as many hairs are on Chewbacca 😀 Just… thank you!
Here’s to the future of Star Wars, for all the shows, all the movies, all the books and games and every way this galaxy will expand. Here’s to never stop learning about Star Wars, to never stop loving Star Wars, and to coming together as fans united.

Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

P.S. For your enjoyment, here’s a list of some of my favorite Padawanline blogs from the last year.

Essentials For A Not-So-Ordinary Star Wars Day!
Uncovering The Lost Missions: The Rise Of Clovis
Escape From The Jedi Temple: A Closer Look
10 Reasons I’m Hyped For Rebels!
Uncovering The Lost Missions: The Lost One
Uncovering The Lost Missions: Sacrifice
Rebel Transmissions: Spark Of Rebellion
Rebel Transmissions: Fighter Flight
Rebel Transmissions: Out Of Darkness
Rebel Transmissions: Empire Day
Rebel Transmissions: Path Of The Jedi
Of Crimson Kybers: Looking At Sith Lightsabers
Rebel Transmissions: Fire Across The Galaxy
A [Fangirly] Analysis Of The New Ep VII Teaser!

