A [Fangirly] Analysis Of The New Ep VII Teaser!

I woke up yesterday thinking it would be just an ordinary Thursday. Yeah I knew that Star Wars Celebration was starting and stuff, but I had no clue that within moments of logging into my usual social media outlets, there it was… a new teaser for The Force Awakens! I will absolutely never forget how it felt as I started loading up the video… I was literally shaking with nervous fangirly anticipation! And it did not disappoint… by the end of it I was somewhere between laughing with giddiness and crying with feels and jaw-on-the-floor mind-blownness. You can tell if you saw my post of the trailer on tumblr and how all over the place my brief description was. Yeah nothing I saw or did yesterday could beat out the coolness that teaser delivered. NOTHING. So there was no question I was blogging about it today! What I’ve decided to do is break down the trailer bit by bit and talk about each moment and what goes through my head whenever I watch it. So here’s the trailer in case you haven’t seen it yet (which at 22 million views you really should’ve seen it by now), and then you can see what I was thinking at each interval!

So you’ve seen it now? Awesome! I’ll give you a second to recover from all the awesomeness before we begin.

NOTE: Contains spoilers from… well, mostly just this teaser. And I guess other Star Wars-y stuff in general so I do hope you’ve already watched the previous trilogies as well.

0:09 – Oooh shiny Lucasfilm logo! I can’t not get chills from the anticipation… and I’ve seen this teaser probably a thousand times already!
0:18 – The lovely desert landscape of the planet we now know is Jakku! Dude’s just speederbiking along and…
0:25 – HOLY GUACAMOLE! A CRASHED STAR DESTROYER! Yeesh what rookie did they let drive that thing? But seriously bro just look at this gorgeous cinematography! It looks so much like the original trilogy I just got goosebumps!
0:35 – Luke? Is that you…?! Took a few viewings of this thing before I realized it was him and not some second-generation Skywalker or Solo.
0:39 – Whoa OK that is going to haunt my dreams for a while. But dude there is no way that Vader couldn’t leave his mark on the galaxy, even all these years later.
0:47 – ARTOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! *Starts fangirling* And wait… if that’s Luke, what happened to his hand? Oh right duh…
0:54 – “My sister has it…” LEIA HOLDING A LIGHTSABER!! OK I absolutely need to see her use it. I bet she still knows how 🙂
1:00 – “You have that power, too” Psh I wish I did, Luke… oh wait you were talking to someone else weren’t you?
1:02 – Ugh I don’t think I can humanly wait that long! Eight months and a day sounds like an eternity! But ohh that music… *fangirls*
1:06 – ERMAGOSH X-WINGS!! AND JUST LOOK AT THIS GORGEOUS SCENERY! AND THE SPECIAL EFFECTS HOW IS IT POSSIBLE THEY MADE THEM LOOK SO REAL WHEN THEY ALREADY LOOKED REAL TO START WITH?! *Continues dying fangirling*
1:07 – I feel quite the same X-Wing pilot dude…
1:08 – AHHHH THE THREE-BLADE ‘SABER IN ACTION!!!
1:09 – Two heroes and a droid running away from an explosion… I CAN’T BEGIN TO TELL YOU HOW MUCH I NEED TO SEE THIS. Also lovin’ the outfits Finn and Rey are rockin’ here! Yeah sue me I do think about these things I’m an artist.
1:11 – BRB Kylo Ren is Force-choking me. But whoa could this guy get any cooler?! Not just anyone can rock a cape, a three-bladed lightsaber, AND a mask! Much mysterious!!
1:12 – The new ‘troopers! Hangin’ with the new Empire, I guess! Loving the streamlined look of their armor! And yikes the new Imperial logo is pretty darn intimidating… yeah it didn’t end after the Ewok party, that’s for sure.
1:14 – Hi Rey!! Seriously I’ll be surprised if she isn’t a Skywalker or a Solo… she looks so much like Leia… just wow…
1:15 – Yikes here come the TIEs! These action shots of the ships are just blowin’ my mind open!
1:16 – Chaos! Explosions! What is goin’ on here?!?!
1:17 – And here’s Finn! Methinks he’s not enjoying his job as a Stormtrooper all that much. But I have a feeling we’re going to love this ‘trooper with a heart… ’cause I already do 🙂
1:18 – Elsewhere in space… A STAR DESTROYER IN ALL ITS GLORY!! And other cool spacecraft! So mushh coolness…!
1:20 – Oooh who’s this guy?? I don’t know who he is yet, but I think he’s gonna give Boba Fett a run for his money 🙂
1:21 – BB-8!! Can I please please hug you?! “No. Why do you think I’m hiding?” XP
1:23 – Rey be like “Come with me if you want to live” and Finn’s all “Um yeah I like those options…”. AUGHH YOU GUYS ARE TWO OF MY FAVORITE PEOPLE RIGHT NOW!! I so much want to see where their adventure goes from there!!
1:26 – THE FALCON! And it’s being chased by a Fighter into a what appears to be a crashed ship! Oh my land look at the way they move! It’s looking to be the best blend of classic Star Wars-look and new Star Wars-look everrr!
1:28 – New TIE pilot design too! Looks kinda neon in there.
1:30 – SERIOUSLY THIS IS SO COOL I CAN’T EVEN.
1:33 – Hmm I wonder whose voice that might be —
1:35 – AHHHHHHH HAN AND CHEWAYYYYYYYY!!!! *Dies fangirling and squeeing* And ohmygoodness, it looks like we never left! Han is still as amazing as ever, rockin’ the gray in his hair! And Chewie don’t look a day over 600-something! And that line…! AUGGHH SO MUCH FEELS I JUST… *Starts crying buckets of happy tears from a deep, deep love of Star Wars that has overtaken my mind, body, and soul* I’M HOME MAN! I’M HOME!!
1:40 – *Still crying and nerding out in the best and worst possible way* There are no doubts in my mind that this will be nothing short of epic.
1:45 – AND IT’S GONNA BE IN 3D?!?! *Resumes fangirling and faints into a coma of happiness*

Yup this is literally what goes on in my head. April 16th will be a day long remembered in the history of my Star Wars fandom! In the history of everyone’s Star Wars fandom, for that matter! And the feels I felt yesterday are just as fresh as they are today! I don’t think could be more in love with Star Wars right now if I tried! OK let’s be honest I always am but seriously I’M SO HAPPYYYY!!! This is truly an amazing time to be in the Star Wars fandom. There’s just an innumerable amount of things to be excited about, and just seeing glimpses of you guys at Celebration reminds me that we’re excited together, young and old, guys and girls, at Celebration or in your homes, we are Star Wars fans united, and we are all bursting at the seams for the beyond-amazing future of this beyond-amazing franchise.
Indeed, Han… we’re home. As a fandom, in this time, wherever we are.

And I hope that made at least one lick of sense… but sue me I’m still fangirling 🙂

Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

