TIM Recap: Sixteen Strikes Back & Duel Of The Eights

And the battle for this year’s coolest character rages on! Things are definitely getting interesting as we start coming down to the wire on this one. It’s time once again to analyze the how and why behind my picks, an especially interesting area since I stink at picking favorites! So let’s begin as we look into the next two rounds in Sixteen Strikes Back and Duel Of The Eights! And remember, these guys are really all my favorites, so if our choices differ, it doesn’t mean I love the other character any less πŸ™‚
NOTE: Contains spoilers from Episode I, Episode II, Episode III, Episode IV, Episode V, Episode VI, the TCW episode Shades Of Reason, and the Rebels episode Call To Action

DAY NINE: R2-D2 VS. LEIA/TARKIN VS. GRIEVOUS

The voting’s always hardest during the first round, but by the second round it gets a bit easier. Though Artoo has beat out Leia every year they’ve gone up against each other, it’s still a pretty difficult decision. Aside from the fact I can’t look at that little droid and not want to hug his dome off, otherwise making him one of those characters I can’t vote against, Artoo stood his ground and made certain to deliver that message to Obi-Wan that kicked off the whole thing. And may we mention how many times he’s saved Leia’s parents on top of all the things he did to help save her and her comrades now? Leia’s an incredibly epic hero in her own right, but R2-D2’s no stranger to the hero game himself, and he just wins at it. So that’s my lame excuse that helped me slim down my answer. It’s nothing personal Leia… Artoo gets voted over a lot of characters.
The bad guys bracket was definitely an interesting run. One’s a quiet evil and the other’s a blatant evil. How do you pick when either way you wouldn’t want to cross them? It took great lengths to bring both dudes down (two words: serious firepower), and both knew how intimidate others, command battles, throw around deadly weaponry, and snuff out lights in terrifying (but awesome) ways. But somehow… the way the Governor does what he does makes him stand out a bit from the General. Plus, there’s something to be said for his classy way of smacktalking his minions and enemies… Grievous had a habit of just yelling when words failed him, while Tarkin’s words never failed him. Ah well, good on ya Tarkin for showing that brain can out-cool brawn!

DAY TEN: OBI-WAN VS. YODA/BOBA VS. JANGO

I don’t know how he’s doing it but Obi-Wan just beat Yoda again! I’m glad I’m not the only one who wants to give this “old desert rat who was once a leader in galactic wars” some love! You could still justify a vote for Yoda by the fact that Yoda trained Obi-Wan, but yeah Obi-Wan did still convince Yoda to train Luke so that’s a lotta win. Eh it’s a tough vote sometimes, but Master Kenobi’s just an awesome one… and again, virtually impossible for me to vote against. He won once, it will be interesting to see if he wins again.
And yes one of the most difficult votes of all! Picking the greater of two Fetts! They’re both so awesome and at the same time still didn’t see the lightsaber or the sarlacc coming. They are the two founding Mandos and a good majority of the reason we love Mandos as much as we do! But voting for Boba wasn’t hard ultimately… we know more of his story and see more of his doings in the SW stories (though it will be interesting to see if future canonical SW literature regarding both Fetts will tip the scale in any way, if I might find myself liking Jango more or liking Boba more), and plus… well, you know. Boba is definitely one of those bad guys who’s hard to vote against.

DAY ELEVEN: HAN VS. CHEWBACCA/VADER VS. MAUL
TIM Han & Vader
Another really really hard vote that seems easy at first but still feels hard. Choosing between Han and Chewie’s like choosing between two sides of the same Twix bar: they’re both amazing and two of my fave guys in the SW universe, how can you choose between two halves of one awesome team?! Buuuuuuut Han… darn it his wit and sarc and charm and awesome is hard to beat! So he has this habit of winning a lot. If I’m not able to blog next week you’ll know it’s because Chewie ripped my arms off. If so, sorry in advance!
As for the Darths, that vote was easy. Admittedly, Maul has a lot in vein of the coolness factor. Double-bladed lightsaber, and pretty epic with a single-blade later on, amazingly epic fightin’ moves, the whole Dathomir thing going on… but Vader’s just so quintessentially awesome! Maul might be frighteningly unpredictable, but Vader is just surrounded by an aura of bad guy coolness! I’ve voted for Maul over Vader before on account that he’s not so easily redeemed, but I decided to give it to the slightly cooler of the two this time.

DAY TWELVE: JAR JAR VS. REX/JABBA VS. VIZSLA

OK so again, I wasn’t going to give it to Jar Jar just because I figured he wouldn’t be most folks’ first choice, even though he’s awesome. True, he technically outranks Captain Rex, but I recently rewatched the Umbara storyarc and my heart just about broke for him and his bros so I just had to give it to him. Yes this is why I wouldn’t be a good Jedi because my emotions do often cloud my judgement. But you go watch those episodes again and see if you can vote against him next round! Oh wait… he went up against Han… who I can’t vote against… never mind Han won that. I’M SORREH REX!!
It’s funny how things work with Pre Vizsla… on the first round, I typically vote against him, but usually he moves up anyway and I end up voting for him in the second round. Honestly I’m not sure how he lost to Jabba, considering he’s a Mandalorian for crying out loud! But Jabba happens to be a fan favorite to even those who consistently watch animated SW, so the Hutt had an advantage, even though I still think Pre’s got a tad more drive. Admittedly he didn’t probably live as long either but eh it’s hard to pick sometimes with bad guys. But as far as who’s the badder, I admit that Jabba does have it a little more since he just feeds people to rancors for fun. So the question is what’s worse… having a lot of attitude and carrying a darksaber or having a lot of attitude and throwing folks to the rancors? I think it might be a draw, really.

DAY THIRTEEN: OBI-WAN VS. R2-D2/TARKIN VS. BOBA
TIM Obi-Wan & Boba Fett
The Duel Of The Eights started with some tricky decisions. The SW Universe leaves us with many questions that may never be answered… what do all the Mortis episodes mean? Where is Yoda’s homeworld? And why is it Obi-Wan trumps Artoo in the battle of characters that I can’t vote against?! If we’re keeping score, Artoo did technically save Obi-Wan’s life first back in Episode I, and technically Obi-Wan has made a few “loose wire” jokes about this obviously amazing droid, so scientifically I should’ve gone with R2-D2, but le sigh I couldn’t go against Master Kenobi. Also it didn’t help I also recently rewatched the whole slave trade debacle in TCW again and I hurt for all the blows he took in the course of those episodes so once again I had to give it to him. Psh I’m such a softie.
Now choosing between Tarkin and Boba was really really hard. Because obviously in the battle of who’s nastier, Tarkin’s totally got this. Just go and unbiasedly watch Episode V and the Rebels episode Call To Action and see for yourself. But ugh I literally was blinded by Fett’s complete coolness and caved in and voted for him. HE’S JUST THAT COOL PEOPLE.

DAY FOURTEEN: HAN VS. REX/VADER VS. JABBA

Yup as I just said a couple paragraphs ago I couldn’t vote against Han. Ugh next year I’m totally going to do a scientific study on characters before I vote for them, but I betcha I’ll still go and vote for guys like Han again. But c’mon you guys you know he’s awesome! And hey Watto challenged us to vote on account to whether we’re more rule-followers or rule-breakers. I’m more of the first one but again, Han! He’s virtually impossible to vote against and you and I both know it! And frankly, Vader vs. Jabba was pretty much a clean sweep. Sorry but Jabba doesn’t have a cool helmet and that’s obviously the only deciding factor in this! jk not really. Still though… Vader can’t help but win πŸ™‚

So who will make it to the championship round? Who will bring home the win this year? We the Star Wars fans are the ones who will decide as such and I can’t wait to share the end results with you next week!

Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

