Reveling In Rebels: A Season One Recap, Part 2

So this is a continuation of last week’s blog, in which I spazzed my head off over Star Wars Rebels. Read the first part here. Spoiler warnings on that post still apply here. Don’t read if you haven’t seen the entirety of Rebels Season One! Preferably you should’ve seen all the movies, too…

So where was I? Oh yeah the incredible two-parter that is Empire Day and Gathering Forces! Yes I’ll never forget how my jaw dropped at the end of Empire Day and how I practically grabbed the screen and yelled “‘TO BE CONTINUED’?! AHHH I DON’T THINK I CAN WAIT ANOTHER WEEK TO FIND OUT WHAT HAPPENS!!” OK that was mostly on the inside but I’m pretty sure the expression on my face sure looked it. It’s funny how, after watching tons of episodes of The Clone Wars that were multi-part cliffhangers, I wasn’t suspecting Rebels to do one so soon! But I’m getting a bit ahead of myself. These episodes are just chock-full of epicness. It’s not every day you find yourself on the run from The Inquisitor and Agent Kallus, trying to save the Rodian who knew too much, while uncovering a difficult chunk of your past, and shortly thereafter figuring out letting go and forgiveness while staring down Fyrnocks! Yeah has anyone else really thought about the fact that all of these events happened in one day? Oh, and if you didn’t already hear, the freaky but incredibly cool realization that Ezra shares an exact birthday with Luke and Leia! Dang that still blows my mind! But yeah it’s almost impossible to try and reiterate all of these episodes’ awesomeness in one paragraph. But yeah they really got us a bit teary-eyed both ways and set the stage for the events to come, as things get more and more intense and we further dig into Ezra’s past. And there is still so much more to be uncovered in the seasons to come! Is that not mind-blowing?! Oh, and am I the only one still wondering what exactly Tseebo told Hera about the Bridgers? Or am I just dumb and didn’t pick up on something obvious?
Then the epicness continued with Path Of The Jedi. This episode… ah man it’s still as incredible as the day I first saw it! It’s pretty much the definition of an emotional rollercoaster, as the first half of Ezra’s trial is downright terrifying, and then the second half contrasts that with feelings of peace, hope, and victory. Getting to see Ezra grow up in this one is just too great. Especially when he gets that lightsaber crystal… I pretty much exploded with excitement πŸ™‚ It’s not an easy road to that super-feely ending though… Path Of The Jedi just keeps on keeping you guessing. I know I for one had some trouble figuring out what was real life and what wasn’t sometimes! But after all these fearful visions, after all these moments of hopelessness, uncertainty, tears, and anger… there is still light. Specifically, Yoda in the form of light. Which yeah you and I both know that was one of the most epic things ever πŸ™‚ Wow… just wow… I don’t know if I can say anything else that hasn’t been said before about this episode. It’s just… one of… the most… amazing. ^w^
And then Lando showed up in Idiot’s Array! Oh boy that was a fun one! And Lando’s role in this episode couldn’t be more perfect! Seeing his swaggyness colliding with our Rebs was an absolute treat. Plus, we get to see more of Hera being awesome. Hehe the way she suckerpunched Lando… XD Sorry Lando but that was one of the highlights of this episode! This adventure’s absolutely a classic, no questions. And we can only hope to run into Mr. Calrissian again in the future, because we can’t forget that this guy’s gonna be a Rebel himself someday down the road πŸ™‚
Oh and who could’ve seen it coming on Vision Of Hope? Seriously I didn’t see it coming! But did anyone else? Well if you did don’t rub it in, k? But even amidst Trayvis’ betrayal, we get plenty of great moments with the Ghost gang and are reminded that it’s never wrong to hope, because hope gives us strength even in the dark times. And hey, it was about time the galaxy got some real hope on the air, and one episode later… Ezra would be the one to deliver that. But I’m not the only one who’s silently rooting for Gall Trayvis to redeem himself, right? What, just me? Well, we’ll just have to see, I suppose… it’ll definitely be interesting seeing where his story goes.
AND ERMAGOSH THE FINALE. Where do I begin?! Call To Action left me with such feels I about hugged my screen. Tarkin proved himself to be one terrifying adversary in ways I couldn’tve imagined. Ezra’s simple but powerful “Rebel Transmission” got me crying. And Kanan… gosh I was so scared for him, yet it made me love him even more because of just how brave he was. I went into this episode having no clue as to what massive thing was about to shake down, and I couldn’t help but hang on to every word and every moment. Rebel Resolve reminded us just how pivotal Kanan is to the crew as Ezra, Zeb, Sabine, and Chopper are willing to do whatever it takes to get him back. Literally whatever, since they went to Vizago of all people! The second part just reiterates just how strong the bond is between our Rebels. And I absolutely adore Chopper’s heroism in this one… it’s not the first time we’ve seen our favorite little C1-1OP stand up in a time of need, but it’s definitely one of the most dangerous times he’s had to do so. Oh, and again, wishing the best for our Imperial droid friend… hopefully king of the Lothcats about now. Though seriously Chopper no one deserves what you did to him! XD
Then there was Fire Across The Galaxy. I’m still reeling from how many feels I got gutpunched with and how much my mind got blown. Seeing how everything came together, how everything led up to it… words can’t adequately describe. Which is kinda a problem for me since I’m writing a blog and all! πŸ˜› But yeah… the incredible heroism Ezra and Kanan showed, the courage of the rest of our crew as they literally go and fly a neon TIE into a battle zone, the amazing fact that our Rebels are no longer alone in their fight, and obviously AHSOKA being Fulcrum… it’s a recipe for pure amazing awesomeness. The term “awesomeness” may be a smidge overused, but I mean it in the true sense of the word… that it leaves me in complete and utter awe, and I know for a fact that it’s the same for all of my fellow fans. COMPLETE AND UTTER AWE. Oh, and Darth Vader showing up, can’t forget about that! Those darkened red eyes in that helmet… the sound of his breath… the flow of that cape… even Kallus is kinda all “Yikes… I almost feel bad for those Rebels… but not really.”! It just flat-out gives you chills, don’t it? Vader means business and he won’t be so easy for our “Rebel Scum” to evade. Yeah, seriously. CHILLS. And seeing Ahsoka again… still one of the most amazing things ever. The cool thing is, back when I was starting to get into SW more and more, I gravitated to Ahsoka pretty quickly. She reminded me of myself, for one thing. But I could also relate to her because she, like me that early on in the SW fandom, didn’t totally understand everything going on around her with all the war and politics and stuff. Ahsoka was a key to understanding a lot of that. And as I started to watch the TCW more and more, as she grew up, my level of SW fandom and knowledge grew with her. So now… seeing Ahsoka all grown up and leading the Rebel Alliance… it’s just incredible. It’s more than I ever could’ve hoped for her! And I can see a bit of a reflection, as somehow, someway, I know enough about Star Wars that I’m sitting here, writing about it on a weekly basis. And every time I read an old blog, I realize just how much I’ve “grown up”, in a way, as well. And then I get all nostalgic and get a case of the feels remembering this amazing journey I’ve had learning and loving SW!
Well now I’ve gotten a bit off-point, but I don’t want to repeat myself all over again from the Transmission I did on this one. I just stinkin’ love this show and being in this fandom! Rebels has made such an impact on my life, as it truly is the first thing in SW I’ve been able to be a part of since day one. Throughout all the highs and lows, the ups and downs, every victory and every defeat, these six amazing individuals stand for others, stand up for what’s right, and stand together. And that, my friends, is just one of the reasons this show is as incredible as it is. Their journey has indeed just begun. And I definitely can’t wait to rejoin our heroes in the months to come πŸ™‚
And thus endeth my dorky fangirling. For now…

Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

