Reveling In Rebels: A Season One Recap, Part 1

So today I’m gonna do something a bit different. Basically I’m gonna sit and ramble on how much I love Star Wars Rebels! OK maybe not entirely… because that could take a long while and we only have, like, six or seven months until the next season! But yeah… this show has become such a part of my life, like everything Star Wars does, and I just wanna pour out my heart on how much this show’s meant to me, and go back and look at this season as a whole, and how incredibly amazing it all is. I know this probably isn’t what you would naturally be looking to read, but hey, what’s a blog if not someone talking about something important to them? So fangirl or fanboy along with me why dontcha? 🙂
NOTE: Contains spoilers from basically the entire first season of Rebels… so don’t read this if you’ve missed a single episode.

14 seems like a small number, doesn’t it? But Rebels has made it a number bigger than you could ever imagine. I can say this because every time I watch an episode, older or newer, I can’t help but take notice as to how the characters have grown, how their relationships have grown, how their world has expanded. A week before the show started, I transformed a piece of Rebels promo art into a wallpaper. I couldn’t wait to meet these characters, and now whenever I look at that wallpaper, it sorta hits me that I have not only met these characters, but that I know them. I don’t know every little detail about their lives and every chapter in their stories, but I absolutely reel when I realize just how much I know about them even so. When I look at these characters, looking all cool and determined and ready to fight, I’m reminded of what they’ve been through. I’m reminded of Ezra’s battle with himself, Kanan’s false guilt, Sabine’s desire to have all the answers, Zeb’s losses. And even not knowing all of Hera’s story, there are plenty of times where we know she has faced plenty of trials of her own. At the same time, I’m reminded of how each of them moved on or won that battle in some way. I get all teary when I see Ezra face The Inquisitor and say “I’m not afraid…”, just as I do when I see Kanan stand tall and say “I have nothing left to fear”. I’m hugely encouraged every time I watch Sabine willing to trust even without all the answers. I keep hoping we’ll see Zeb come to some sort of peace regarding the tragedy the befell Lasan. And I about die “aww”-ing when Hera encourages her comrades at every turn, putting their needs often before her own. Maybe that all sounds a bit crazy, but to me, it’s just amazing realizing how, after 14 episodes, I feel like I’ve known the Ghost crew my whole life. Now to me they are as core to the SW galaxy as the Skywalkers themselves!
Every chapter reveals something, furthers something, expands on something. No episode airs without some sort of overall effect to the series at large. This can clearly be seen in Droids In Distress, as the droids’ seemingly average owner is actually playing his own part in the growing rebellion. Who’da thunk it, right?! And it goes even farther beyond that! So let’s take a second and talk about the episodes, and how each adventure affected the story as a whole.
I still remember the day I first saw Spark Of Rebellion, just how absolutely huge that felt! How I laughed, how I cried, and how it effortlessly snuck its way into my heart, as if I’d been watching it forever! And now when I watch it, I feel this sense of awe as to how much has changed over this season. I actually watched Spark Of Rebellion after watching Fire Across The Galaxy last week. Definitely a cool experience, seeing them from that first rescue to their most recent one 🙂 It’s amazing seeing how they’ve bonded since then as well as how Ezra’s grown up. I mean, we now know a lot more about Ezra’s past than we did on the pilot. He grew up with such incredible parents, but eight years without them and he’s sorta gone against their message of helping others and standing up for those who can’t. Of course I’m not criticizing him, it would be easy to become jaded if I were in his shoes. And of course, he probably connected losing his parents to the good things they did, so he likely wanted to get away from that as far as possible. While I know I probably overuse the Aladdin connection, he really is a diamond in the rough at this juncture, he just doesn’t know it yet. And man oh man… I get all sorts of feely when Ezra watches as Zeb and Sabine give out food to the Tarkintown residents… how he’s really starting to figure it out, how it’s starting to reopen his eyes to why exactly his folks did what they did. And seriously, one of potentially my most favorite moments ever in the show has to be in Path Of The Jedi when he tells Yoda that helping others makes him “feel alive“… just… wow. So much wow. To see him take that leap from looking out for number one to finding joy in giving back just blows my mind every time. It’s hard not to cheer every time I watch Spark Of Rebellion and see Ezra slowly making the right choice in things, and even going out to help when the odds are all stacked against him. And despite all the craziness that conspires, at the end of it all, the crew’s doesn’t seem to want to say goodbye to this thieving street kid. We know beyond a shadow of a doubt that Ezra makes the right choice at the end when he makes the decision to join the Ghost family. Could there have been a better first chapter for this story? I think not 🙂
Then there’s Droids In Distress again. Beyond just Bail Organa’s connections that none of us had a clue about, this episode has a lot of interesting ties to the rest of the season. I love, of course, learning more about Zeb and his story. As I said on my Transmission on the episode, it really opened my eyes to what a great guy Zeb is, and made me respect and love him even more than I already did. In the days before Rebels debuted, Zeb was kind of an enigma, and seemingly kind of hard to define through just the character intro video alone. I never doubted he’d be an awesome character and that I’d love him, but I had no idea just how awesome he would be and how much I would love him. So yeah this episode went beyond just the concept of the Rebels running into Threepio and Artoo, it gave me a full-on case of the feels and put me on the edge of my seat. And of course, we get to see Ezra’s first really big show of Force as he awesomely defends his comrade, even though he has no idea how he did it. Along with another interesting tie, as we now know Sabine really was an Imperial Academy student. Whether she really was a level five or not I don’t know… pshh she’s so beyond grades. On a scale from one to ten she’s a 37! Watching this episode again recently definitely wet my appetite to learn more about Zeb and Sabine in the season to come. And made me keep crossing my fingers that a character from the Droids series might walk in one day…
Speaking of Zeb, then there’s Fighter Flight! It was pretty cool of Ezra to save Zeb’s life and stuff… up until he started holding it over his head. We got another glimpse at Ezra’s past through the awesome Mr. Sumar, which opened up a whole chapter on his family we didn’t know about. The whole overall story with Ezra and Zeb is an absolute delight, further expanding on the Ghost family’s awesome dynamic. And of course, that infamous TIE… I never would’ve seen coming exactly how that Fighter would end up being used in the end! And an infamous painting on the wall will always remind us of such events. You could say Chopper is the real hero in this because if he hadn’t gotten Zeb and Ezra squabbling they wouldn’t have ended up in the situation that led them to the TIE in the first place and if they hadn’t had that TIE later on Kanan might be a dead man right now. Well, this might not be entirely the case, but yeah no one can deny Chopper the title of “Rebel Hero”… even when he does throw dishes at you, hits you with electricity, removes the screws from your bunk, and laughs at you just ’cause he wants to 😀
Then it got real on Rise Of The Old Masters. This episode really nailed me in the feels. I guess after the mostly lightheartedness of Fighter Flight I had no clue just how much it would blow my mind. But hello The Inquisitor’s in it! And man… Kanan and Ezra’s relationship is so great… you feel for them both in their frustrations this episode as Kanan feels inadequate as a teacher for Ezra, and Ezra, who feels like Kanan’s giving up on him. But after being led into a trap (that only now we realize was totally thanks to Gall Trayvis), nearly dying at the hands of The ‘Quiz, and taking on a good chunk of the Empire, they both are willing to do — not just try. I love how much their relationship grew in this one, and you gotta love Kanan for not being perfect, for being real, for being honest, for being extremely relatable to both Ezra and the rest of us. It just makes their father-son-esque bond all the awesomer. And The Inquisitor’s quite epic in his first flesh-and-blood appearance, too… I always knew he was an intense baddie, but I had no idea he was so classily calculating, and that made him all the cooler! Yeahhh I’m gonna miss him chasing down the Rebels like he do. Most defs. And his epic lightsaber. But eh well I’d miss Kanan a lot more so I won’t miss ‘Quizzy that much… but I’m getting ahead of myself.
And then there’s Breaking Ranks! Ezra’s inside job and the first time we get to meet Zare Leonis! It’s insanely cool getting to dig deeper into the Empire and how it does what it does, like training up young ‘troopers. And yeah Zare is so stinkin’ cool… and the fact he’s got his own book series going on makes him all the cooler! But yeah, it’s nice to know that Ezra’s not the only “rebel” in these ranks. Even when you’ve got crazy cadets who think the Empire hung the moon (pfffff see what I did there?? XD ). There’s so much I can’t wait to dig into further in Zare’s series, but until then, I’m just happy to enjoy this adventure as it is, as Ezra’s made an unexpected friend while undercover and the Imperials get whupped by friendship and teamwork! (Sorry I know that sounds cheesy but it’s true) Oh, and Jai and Zare live our dream and drive a walker. That too.
Of course, we have to talk about Out Of Darkness. This is the episode where we really got to sit down and learn some more about our rebel girls… including a third girl we would have yet to meet, “Fulcrum” 🙂 Getting to see Hera and Sabine bond over fighting Fyrnocks is quite the adventure, and we’re quite glad they made it out alive. And just getting these tiny hints in the direction as to the larger mission at hand is really cool, both in the moment and looking back. Fulcrum — er, Ahsoka — I’m sorry I ever might’ve given you a smidgen of doubt. And I’m sure Sabine’s thinking that a bit now. Though it will be interesting to see if Sabine and Ahsoka ever butt heads over something in the business of rebelling. It’s really amazing seeing how Hera handles this, how she’s able to encourage Sabine to have faith even when she can’t give her all the answers. It is so much legit truth, and it comes to mind every now and then when I’m asking questions that I can’t have answered. Getting to know more of their stories is one of the things that makes this episode so awesome. And it’s really hard to encapsulate all of that in this one paragraph, so go and read the Transmission on the episode for more (and ignore all my ramblings from back before I ever wondered if Fulcrum was Ahsoka). Like say, when you look at how everything comes together at the end… it is all kinds of epic.

Come back next week to read the rest of the recap!

Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

