10 Reasons I’m Hyped For Rebels!

So here we are… only a month now stands between us Star Wars fans and the premiere of Star Wars Rebels! A mere twenty-nine days, but ohh what an eternity that feels like to us all! So, to hopefully pass the time until then, I’ve decided to compile together some of the reasons I’m most excited for this already clearly-amazing show! And for the record, this isn’t the “top ten”, so they’re in no order in particular 🙂
NOTE: Contains minor spoilers from the Rebels trailers and clips that have already been released.

1. These Guys!

It’s tempting to go and fangirl over Kanan, Ezra, Hera, Sabine, Zeb, and Chopper all over again, but I already wrote a blog on my thoughts on the crew! But I can say that I love these guys even more than I did when I wrote that post… each one of them is so amazing, so real, so fun, so relatable! I can say with great certainty that I will love joining them for the long haul in this series 🙂

2. That Original Trilogy Vibe

Now, I love both trilogies equally, but it does definitely feel really awesome to be in this era for the first time in so so long! After a lot of time spent these last few years in the Prequel era (which were seriously awesome too), it’s hugely exciting to be coming into a new time and place in the SW Universe! And not only that, the McQuarrie-an style, the bond between a specific group of characters, the Imperial threat… it’s very classic SW-feeling and I can’t get enough of it! Like say, no negativity towards the Prequels/TCW, it’s just that the Originals were where it all began, and while, yeah, this happens before then, the vibe is still there, and it feel so goooooood.

3. Da Baddies

I haven’t had much time to give The Inquisitor and Agent Kallus the love they deserve, so now I shall spazz about them for a bit! These guys are so so intense… I mean, Kallus is already like dead-on serious (and has awesome sideburns), but then The ‘Quiz is that seriousness SQUARED. I mean, one of the things that make these two so great is that they’re not even that high up on the Imperial food chain and they still take their jobs as serious as their Sith bosses! And they are appropriately frightening and malicious, while still having a villainous sort of appeal that makes them two of the coolest Utapauans/humans in the known galaxy! Their voices, the way they carry themselves, their skill, their determination… for baddies, they’re pretty darn awesome! And perhaps the best thing is that these guys are real legit threats, which I know is totally the norm in the SW Universe, but it’s still an awesome thing to see in any animated series! Just knowing that one of these dudes could truly end the lives of our heroes is both terrifying, but necessary to amp up the intensity and keep me on the edge of my seat, audibly gasping at the near-misses and crying buckets when the bad guys have their occasional moment of glory, and then cheering and crying happy tears when our heroes still continue to fight for what’s right no matter what.

4. Familiar Faces

It’s felt so so good to get to know a whole slew of newbies, and I was perfectly happy just getting these guys at the helm of the Ghost. But then they made my head explode and had the Obi-Wan Kenobi show up for a bit! And let me say he looks awesome in this style… definitely makes you do a double-take when you realize how unique the style of Rebels is from TCW! And on top of that, it looks like we’ll get to hang out with Threepio and Artoo at some point! Which is like, also head-exploding worthy as well (it’ll blow up twice if we run into any familiar Droids faces while we’re there!). And even the great and awesome Luminara Unduli! And who knows who else might drop by down the road? It sure feels good to see these familiar friends once more!

5. The Laughs

A little levity is always essential to the SW Universe, no matter how crazy things get, and the footage from Rebels continues to prove that. Just watching the “The Machine In The Ghost” short sets off my funny bone! Seriously, the timing and irony couldn’t be more perfect! The Ghost crew has their off days and arguments sometime, and when that happens, there’s not a doubt in my mind that a lot of these situations will leave us laughing! Perhaps especially where Chopper is concerned 🙂 Quips, wit, and sarcasm are all part of the SW Galaxy, and Rebels clearly had no problem keeping that a part of the series!

6. This…?
Rebels Screencap 05

Another thing that’s a common sight in SW would be romance ❤ I've heard tell that Kanan and Hera might be a thing, though I kinda doubted until I saw this. Maybe it’s nothing, orrrr maybe it’s something! And if you’ve seen the Disney Channel ad, you know that Ezra and Sabine miiiight have something (at least as far as Ezra’s concerned 😆 ) Who knows, really? I suppose we can only wait and see what happens down the road, but if there's one thing that I've learned from watching a whole lot of SW it's that you never know what will happen or how it'll happen or when it'll happen or who it'll happen to. So likely story, I'll likely have a couple of someones I can squee over before the series ends :3

7. DAT ANIMATION!
Rebels Screencap 07
Seriously, it’s so so gorgeous I can’t watch anything, trailer or clip or whatever, and not gush on all the work that went into it. Especially the character animation. I know that the TCW’s animation was gorgeous too, but daaaAaaAaaaAnggg I don’t know exactly what they did here but it is some kinda mind-blowingly epic!

8. The Heart

You can’t not have heart in SW, it’s just a fact. I get all the feels just watching the trailer, man. While yes, their being like family probably makes for some humorous debacles, but most likely their being like family is going to lead to tearjerking, heartstring-tugging moments through-and-through. On top of that, you have a band of mismatched heroes who just want to do the right thing and fight for what’s right, which automatically equals tears, both happy or otherwise. Plus there’s the nostalgia tears that I get in general. Aww man I can only predict the awesomeness that will happen but I know it will be awesome and I will be hit with a brickload of feels for the next five years or so…

9. This:
Star Wars Rebels Screencap 09
OK, so this isn’t as deep as the others. I just love SW-y action. And explosions. Them too. Oh, and space battles.

10. The FANDOM!!
Funny Rebels Gif
I can write Closer Looks posts on the episodes, make gifs like this, draw fanart, buy action figures… being knee-deep in the Rebels fandom will be EPIC!

And that’s just ten reasons! Only ten! There are clearly way more, though… just can’t figure out how to categorize them all! So hopefully the wait will zip right by at lightspeed and before we know it, we’ll finally get to join Kanan and Ezra and the gang in a new era of Star Wars awesome!

Until then,
Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

