Uncovering The Secret Missions: The Unknown

So I know I’m not the only person who last Friday got warm fuzzies being reunited with the Clone Wars gang for the first time in forever (*Twilight resists urge to sing Disney song of same title and ultimately fails*). I got to catch the first two episodes, and I’m planning to watch a new one every week from here on out. OK, so you may be staring at me right now thinking “You had warm fuzzies at The Unknown and Conspiracy? Aren’t they a smidge dark for that?” I meant that just seeing these guys again made me so blissfully fangirly it made me warm and fuzzy inside. I was all “ANAKIN! REX! FIVES! AHHH I MISSED YOUUUUU!!!” and wanted to just soak all the wonderfulness up even in the midst of the episode’s opening battle! Overall, yeah, it had its dark moments, but I love this show too much to focus on that! So let’s get on an get into the awesomeness that is the Season 6 opener!
NOTE: Contains spoilers from Episode III, Episode VI, the Clone Wars Microseries, the TCW episodes The Unknown, The Wrong Jedi, and Cat And Mouse

Lost Missions Phototitle 01
So as I said, I spent most of the opening battle fangirling it up, just happy to see my fave characters again! And even more so as, if you guys remember, a chunk of this particular episode was sneak-peeked in that “Future Of TCW” video. I met many a freaked-out TCW fan with it, letting them know “Dude, it’s cool! We’re getting more episodes! It hasn’t ended yet!” and it was indeed a shining light on my horizon, reminding me that it wasn’t the end, either. I mean, I figured we might get a couple of bonus episodes, but it turned out that we got 13 of ’em! And for that, I’m eternally grateful! Anyway, Anakin, the clones, and the two new Jedi Tiplar and Tiplee were tearing it up — well, the miles and miles of battle droids, anyway, and they were majorly winning. Soooo can I just stop a minute and talk about the Jedi who I wish I’d met sooner? Tiplar and Tiplee are the originale Jedi twins, and they’re so so cool! I’m not familiar with their species, but they’re absolutely epic! Again, I wish I’d met them sooner, especially since Tiplar (I think; I get them mixed up) bites the dust in this episode. What must it be like being a Jedi and a twin? As a twin myself, I bet they’re not always so in sync. I mean, when they were kids, they probably weren’t thrilled that they both were Force-sensitive, because both of them wanted to be a bit “more special” than the other. Think that the other younglings ever made fun of their similar-sounding names? Do you think that maybe they had trouble being unique when the others got them mixed up or when they were treated as if they were the same person? And what’s “twintuition” like when you have Force abilities? Oh wait — Luke and Leia are twins. That answers that question, I guess. But still! So many wonderings. And above all, they literally have the same voice, the awesome Anna Graves, who gave voice to awesome characters like Satine and Sugi! Plus, Tiplee actually pulls off blue makeup with a red complexion! That’s not an easy feat. No matter what these sisters have dealt with in the past, they fight completely and totally awesomely and know how to lead the troopers. And thankfully, they don’t have to share one lightsaber or anything like that 🙂
And it’s worth wondering about Anakin… I recently did have my assumptions that these episodes do take place directly after Ahsoka’s departure proven true. So… how he’s doing, suddenly going it solo? I mean, he seems pretty chill and about as, well, Anakin-ish, as usual in Episode III and the Clone Wars Microseries (which leads directly into Episode III). When did he let it go? It’s not as if it’s that obvious in this episode, but we’re all wondering it… we just don’t know how to say it. And considering his temper lately, I think it’s better not to bring it up… but that’s the least of our worries at the moment, moving back to our story.
This episode really is a big old family reunion as we find out who’s in charge of that whole slew of droids — the one and only Admiral Trench! We haven’t seen him since Season 2 (unless he showed up in one of the few episodes I’ve missed in Season 3…), and last we saw him, his ship kinda blew up. And here he is! None too worse for the wear! Except for the fact that he’s literally half machine now; yeesh, and you thought he was rather scary-looking just as the spidery dude he is… now he’s a robo-spider-humanoid! Eek!! But despite his new arms and eyes and stuff, he hasn’t changed much; still a dignified, fairly creepy-looking, and tough-to-beat separatist as always.
So our team of good guys was majorly winning — and then something went completely wrong. The clone they call Tup took his blaster to Tiplar for literally no reason. When things like this happen, the only thing to do is fall back and figure out what in the world just conspired. And as it seems, Tup isn’t sure why he did what he did either, but he can’t think too long on it before he suddenly makes it all-too-clear that he wants to do the same to Anakin and Tiplee. The mess has left everyone confused… the medical clones, poor mentally messed-up Tup, the Jedi, even Trench is all “what they hey hey?” and calls up Dooku to tell him what happened. When Dooku catches wind of this, he’s like “Ohhhh noes, this isn’t good…”. And once he lets Sidious knows, the big cheese Sith isn’t too thrilled, either. He said something about “a programming error” that could “ruin all his plans” to which I’m all “RUIN THE PLANS!! RUIN THE PLANS!!“, ’cause I very much know what plans he’s talking about. But it struck me as to what the “error” might’ve been… perhaps Order 66 is something that they’ve been designed to carry out no matter what, and Tup accidentally got it a bit prematurely? Hmm… (not to be confused with Order 6, the one where you’re supposed to throw your comlink as far away as you can; that’s a Lego short joke if you’re confused) This is one of those times where my mind reels at the fact that one small thing could’ve possibly halted the entire tragedy that ensues in Episode III, like seriously. But ah well… the way the cookie crumbles, that is.
So, the Jedi and clone meds come to their own conclusion that, whatever’s wrong, the Separatists might have something to do with it. And thus, they send Tup off to Kamino to find out what they can do to help him. But getting our clone friend shipped off didn’t go as smoothly as planned, because the Seps sent a barrelload of buzz droids and super battle droids… which, as you can imagine, did a heck of a lot of damage on the ship (and the other clones caught in the crossfire), and took Tup with them! The only thing I could say while watching all that unfold was “UNCOOL”.
But the good guys aren’t giving up! Anakin, Rex, and Fives head out to save their ill compadre the way only they can — really, really awesomely. DUDE, they landed on the underside of the Separatist ship and spacewalked their way up to the docking bay! And then they got a look and saw about a bazillion battle droids… Rex was all “Uhh… are you serious, bro?” to which Anakin was like “What? You think taking down that massive horde of droids isn’t going to be easy?”. But Fives had a better idea — grappling gun hitchhiking! They got a grip on the ship and floated behind them. A few minutes later, the trio made their entrance, and the way Anakin takes down those droids… it’s a thing of beauty! We only wish we were as good as he is! Major epic points for General Skywalker! And I laugh every time the droid pilot, unaware of the craziness going on behind him, says “Hey… now we’re experiencing turbulence!” right before he gets blasted XD And with no way to get the head droid to spill his guts, all the threesome can do is get Tup to Kamino ASAP. And as we prepare to continue to the tale in the episode to come, Fives does the right thing any friend would do and goes along to support his friend in this difficult time. So what’s to happen next?? What exactly is wrong with Tup?? What are the Seps really up to? And most importantly… is the hospital food on Kamino any better than what we have at Earth hospitals?? OK, I’ve actually already seen Conspiracy, but for the sake of things, I wanted to end on that kind of note (Spoiler alert: We still don’t know what Kamino hospital food is like). It’s a really epic start for The Secret Missions, intense, intriguing, and exciting all around! Really digging deep into the SW Galaxy!
So until the next Uncovering post, just remember…

Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

