My Star Wars Twin? Looking @ The Myers Briggs Test

So last week I was listening to one of my fave radio shows and they had found something that I could not wait to blog on: a Star Wars version of the Myers Briggs Test! After laughing at the show’s (guy) host being most like Leia, I looked at the chart for myself and thought “who here is my Star Wars twin?”
OK, so I’ll be honest, I really don’t entirely understand how this test works. But just reading the descriptions of each character told me that well… forget a SW twin, I have SW octuplets! I somehow ended up being the entire two middle rows. I do have a bit of a diverse personality. So I thought it would be interesting to dig into each character I felt was a bit like me and how I relate to them.
NOTE: Contains spoilers from Episode I, Episode II, Episode III, Episode IV, Episode VI, the Clone Wars Miniseries, and TCW episodes Blue Shadow Virus and The Gungan General.

C-3PO: The Protector
SW_MBT1_C3PO
So when I was reading through the descriptions for each character, I may have cringed a little bit when I read Threepio’s bio. Mostly because I was thinking “WAIT. I’M MOST LIKE THREEPIO?!” And nothing against the golden droid, but he’s not known for being the most fun guy in the room or anything. But yet, I still see that Threepio and I have more in common than I would’ve thought.
First of all, I can be terrified by new and seemingly-dangerous experiences. Remember in Episode I where he was all “Well, I can promise you that they’ll never get me on one of those starships!”? And remember how we all chuckle at that line because of how ironic it is? Like Threepio, I prefer the comforts of the familiar most of the time. I admit that I’m not the most adventurous person on the planet. I can’t even begin to imagine being in the shoes of any of theย SW characters!
As it mentions in his description, I do keep track of what’s important to the awesome family and friends in my life. I’ve never thought of Threepio as a thoughtful sort, but then again… remember that part in the Clone Wars miniseries when he had no problem fetching Padme’s shawl, even though it turned out to be Padme’s own clever way of revealing the camoflauged droideka-things? Threepio was all “I MUST BE OUT OF MY CIRCUITS.” and he nearly got blasted to bits just being helpful to his friend. I guess he does have a bit of a soft side after all ๐Ÿ™‚
Now, sometimes when I’m with friends, I’m even less adventurous. My friends all eat out of the same bowl of frozen yogurt for a crazy scavenger hunt and I opt out of joining them due to my germophobia. I sometimes feel like a Threepio surrounded by Artoos, shall we say. I just don’t want to invite trouble in, and sometimes, like Threepio, I get my own set of trouble anyway. Not that this is the case most of the time, but I’ll watch Threepio in his many, many misadventures and I’ll nod my head and say “bro, I feel your pain”.
But all the same, Threepio really is just trying to do his best and help people, like he was programmed for. I’m a bit more crazy and carefree than Threepio, but when it comes down to our comrades, we just want to be there for them and be a friend — even when our friends are more adventurous than we are.

Obi-Wan Kenobi: The Counselor
SW_MTB1_ObiWan
As a huge Obi-Wan fan (as you all know by now), I was really hoping that he’d be my SW twin. Interestingly though, according to this, we’re not as alike as I had thought.
I do find myself curious about what makes people tick. I mean, I love to create characters and tell stories as well as observe my favorite movies, shows, and books, in both ways thinking about what motivated so-and-so to do this, or why they reacted like this, or what did they really mean when they said that, etc. I consider myself pretty insightful, but I’m not sure that I match this description to an insane level or anything. But they seem to be more talking about the Obi-Wan of the Original Trilogy; I think that if we look at the Obi-Wan of the Prequels, we have more in common than just our interest in human thought.
I like to joke around that I could be Obi-Wan’s twin sister. We both have nearly the same color hair and eyes, weirdly enough. Obi-Wan is considered to be a master of wit and wisdom. I don’t know if I’m the wisest, but I love coming up with clever one-liners and sarcastic quips. I remember a year ago watching the TCW episode Blue Shadow Virus for the first time in a while. And Obi-Wan and the clones are standing in that room chock-full of life-destroying bombs and Obi-Wan’s like “Good thing these things aren’t armed!” Cue two seconds later when that dastardly doctor starts up the countdown. I chuckled to myself and remarked “Spoke too soon” just as Obi-Wan said “I spoke too soon”! And I had totally forgotten that line was in there! I think we have a strangely similar thought process. Aside from that time, I’ve sat and watched Obi-Wan a number of times and thought “I would totally have reacted like that!”
Another thing you don’t realize quiteย as much in the Originals is that Obi-Wan is super amiable and friendly. I definitely can be like that, especially with close friends. He has acquaintances and chums in bounty hunters, diner cooks, important politcians, fellow Jedi, and everyone in between. Being as I’ve never traveled the galaxy with Qui-Gon, I don’t have any friends in those categories, but all the same, I enjoy talking and hanging out with people.
So while I may not exactly be Obi-Wan’s doppleganger, I’m glad I have a few somethings in common with this incredibly awesome Jedi.

Bail Organa: The Artist
SW_MTB1_BailOrgana
As soon as I saw they classified him as “The Artist”, I realized I might’ve found my SW twin. I love drawing and writing and consider myself to be an artsy sort, though I’d never thought of Bail as “artsy” (though perhaps he secretly sketches landscapes in his spare time…). But it goes deeper than that.
As the description states, while I love being around friends, I really enjoy having some space to just be me (especially when I’m writing or drawing or blogging, like I am now). I’m all about not rushing art; I’d rather take a week on a great drawing than do ten bad drawings in one week. And I really am not a fan of getting into disagreements with people (which is clearly why I don’t allow comments on this blog). But yet I have a strong sense of justice, and I will speak up about it.
Also, Senator Organa and I have the closest fashion sense ๐Ÿ™‚ Blues, grays, blacks, turtlenecks, boots… dude, I must own tons of those colors and articles! What can I say? Bail and I got SWAG! XD
In all seriousness, I am proud to be very much alike Leia’s “other” daddy. He may not be the first person who comes to mind when you think about Star Wars, but he is truly one of my fave Prequel characters and a truly great character.

Luke Skywalker: The Idealist
SW_MTB1_LukeSkywalker
I was quite surprised to find that I had stuff in common with one of the most notable heroes in the SW Galaxy! But the description does sound a bit like me, even if I’ve never watched a double sunset, looking intense with John Williams in the background ๐Ÿ™‚
I probably am a bit idealistic, and I would definitely say I’m a loyal sort. And I definitely don’t sit around and let people trash what I know is right. And I do want to see people meet their full potential.
I think that I’m pretty adapatable and flexible. For the most part, I’m just cool with whatever happens. Sometimes I get bummed out, but hey, I’m not sure that Luke was exactly feeling “flexible” when he found out his farmwork would prolong his dream of being part of the Rebel Alliance.
Besides all of that, Luke and I both have twin siblings. So, cool ๐Ÿ˜€
Overall, I’m quite pleased to be so similar to Luke Skywalker. He’s messed up and he’s been knocked down a few times, but all the same he’s still full of spirit and strength. I hope to match that description in my everyday life.

Wicket W. Warrick: The Performer
SW_MBT1_WicketWarrick
Some people might not be thrilled with coming out an ewok. I am not some people. I kinda figured I’d share a lot in common with this furry warrior, and I’m quite happy about it.
Outgoing? Check. Friendly? Check. Exhuberant lover of life? Check. And I do love my friends and family and my stuff, too.
And like the description states, I do like working with people on stuff. Sometimes I prefer to go it solo, but as someone who always stays for the end credits on every movie, I highly admire team efforts and enjoy being a part of a group.
I’m not sure I’m easily adaptive sometimes, as I mentioned earlier with Threepio, but it depends on the situation. Sometimes I’ll jump into it, and sometimes I’ll tiptoe into it, but I do want to do my best no matter what.
It’s also kinda fun to say that I’m about the height of an ewok… I’m not very tall… OK OK maybe I’m not literally three-foot-nothing or whatever, but sometimes I feel about that tall. But Wicket’s great because he is that tall and he still is an Empire-whupping hero ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, he was my birthday cake this year, so that says something about me, I guess…

Qui-Gon Jinn: The Champion
SW_MBT1_QuiGonJinn
So, assuming I got the actual method right, Qui-Gon is my actual SW twin. How cool is it to say that I’m Qui-Gon?! He’s another one of my fave SW characters ever!! I can never see the name Liam Neeson without thinking of Master Jinn, and I mean that as a compliment! (Well, the first role I saw him in was as Aslan in the Narnia films, but Qui-Gon comes to mind more often) So yeah I geeked out when I found this out.
Also, being known as The Champion is awesome …YOU’RE GONNA HEAR ME ROAR/LOUDER, LOUDER THAN A LION/’CAUSE I AM A CHAMPION/YOU’RE GONNA HEAR ME ROOOOOOAAAARRRR!! *Ahem* Sorry (Hehehe I realized that Mr. Neeson played Aslan who is a lion and Qui-Gon, who is “The Champion”…)
But anyway, everything it says in the description fits me like a glove. Warmly enthusiastic, imaginative, sees life as full of possibilities. Definitely me.
It also mentions wanting affirmation from others. Also true; I admit I’m more partial to compliments than I am criticism. Never pegged Qui-Gon in that area, but who knows? He did kinda have to deal with the Council’s lack of enthusiasm when he wanted to train Anakin. And they say Qui-Gon’s a bit of a rebel among Jedi; I’m not saying I’m a rebellious sort, but I do get being a bit different from the average sort in my crowd.
But then it mentions readily giving appreciation and support. This is also right on the Republic credits. I love uplifiting others in their craft and cheering them on. Especially when it comes to fellow artists and writers.
Really, everything here is true. Right down to my verbal fluency (I am writing a blog here, aren’t I?) Again, it’s insanely cool to be akin with the amazing Master Jinn. I would very much like to grab a cup of joe with him in the Force Spirit Realm sometime ๐Ÿ˜€

Jar Jar Binks: The Provider
SW_MBT1_JarJarBinks
For some reason, I figured I’d be even more like Jar Jar than the description says. And unlike some fans, I have no problem with being like Representative Binks.
Whoops… there went all my viewers. JUST HERE ME OUT, PLEASE.
Well, besides the fact that I can be rather klutzy (though not to a have-to-be-banished-from-my-hometown level), I think “warmhearted, concientious, and cooperative” suit me.
I definitely prefer harmony in my surroundings, and as I mentioned with Wicket, I like working with other people.
Interesting thought here: Jar Jar may seem like a nice guy 99% of the time, but he can be very good at sarcasm. I mean, that line in Episode I where he’s all “Ha… yeah… no. I’d be better off dead here than dead at the planet core.” or “The Force. Yeah, sure. That’s a huge deal…” I’m not saying I would’ve reacted exactly like him in those situations, but while I try to be nice most of the time, I can be… well, a pureveyor of the fine art of sarcasm.
And then the last thing about wanting to be appreciated? That’s very true of me. I want to leave a legacy, shall we say. I want to be remembered well for who I am and what I’ve done. I may not be a twice-time General or a peace-seeking politician, but Jar Jar and I both want to be loyal friends, help people, and make a difference. And like this guy or not, Jar Jar has definitely made a difference in the SW Galaxy.

Padme Amidala: The Giver
SW_MBT1_PadmeAmidala
Honestly, I thought Padme and I would have the least in common. I mean, standing up to monsters and other bad guys? Standing up to a crowd with a potentially planetshaking proposition? Wearing that much makeup? I could never be like Padme in those areas, I don’t think. She’s an extremely admirable character, and I couldn’t imagine what we really had in common. But look again… most of the description is pretty on the nose! Warm, empathetic, finds potential in everyone, etc. I’m not sure I’m leader material, as this suggests. But I think it’s pretty cool that we’re not too far apart.
I also think about how Padme is very outspoken with her beliefs and her drive for peace… she wants the war to end, but she’s willing to fight for it all the same. Even if it requires what we would call “aggressive negotiations”. I think that I share that, in a way. I mentioned earlier that I’d rathered not get into disagreements if I can help it, but all the same, if I feel the need to, I will argue a point down to the bone. I sometimes wish I wasn’t like this because I don’t want to sound like a jerk or lose any friends, but I suppose it’s good that I’m willing to hold on tightly to what I believe is true. And that’s why I’m glad I have a bit of Senator Amidala in me.

So I hopefully have given you a chance to look at these characters differently and maybe learn a bit more about me. But enough about me! Who’s your SW twin? ๐Ÿ™‚

BLOGGER’S NOTE 2/6/16: I finally found the chart again after the link having been broken for so long. I will note that the descriptions are different than what I originally used on this post, but the concepts are still the same. Sorry for any confusion this may cause. Thanks for reading.

star_wars_mbti

Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

