Why My Family… ‘woks

My birthday was a couple of weeks ago (the 11th), and that was followed a week later by my birthday party with my folks. Both days were insanely wonderful! Did Star Wars play a part in it? Why, yes, it did. First off, my cousin, who is an excellent baker, cake decorator, and fellow SW fangirl, made me this glorious birthday cake…
EwokCake01
My cousin has been making me birthday cakes for ten years now, and I’ve loved them all… but this is my first three-dimensional one, and boy does it take the cake! (Sorry sorry there will be no more cake puns…) Now, between Monsters University, Despicable Me 2, and Planes all being awesome the way they are, you may wonder why it is I chose a SW cake this year over a cake with one of those (which is, btw, the first SW cake I’ve ever had). It basically started with this old Wilton 3-D teddy bear pan… while I had several other ideas, I’d look and see that box in my closet and my mind would wander on ideas of what to do with it. One day, the best idea popped into my mind: make it into a 3-D ewok cake! And it’s even cooler since it’s the 30th anniversary of Episode VI! When I sent my cousin my idea, she loved it. And as you can see, she did awesome on this little banana-flavored furball πŸ™‚ (Don’t look at me like that! I happen to like unique flavors for my birthday cakes!) It was a bit weird, I’ll admit, to have to cut up little Wicket… by the time everyone had had a slice, I joked around that the war with the Empire “took a lot out of him” XD
Now, another cool thing is that since my brother and I are twins, he also had a cake… a simple ice cream cake… with an epic Clone Wars miniseries Obi-Wan Kenobi action figure looking epic on top! I can only imagine now what our cakes will look like when Episode VII comes out… πŸ˜€
I’ve mentioned my brother in previous posts, and he’s not only an amazing brother, but he’s probably the majority of the reason I’m into SW in the first place. It was his idea to show me Episode IV for the first time so very long ago in ’06. And all the movies that followed. When I saw each movie for the first time, they were his copies of the movies. The action figures I own are pretty much all hand-me-downs from him. He convinced me to check out TCW before I was even hugely into it. He was the one who brought home the CW Miniseries DVDs one day in 2010 that a short time later would ignite my interest in SW. Truth, man, I could go on forever about how he’s influenced my fandom. He was my Master in the SW fandom, and now it’s one fo the things we talk about all the time! And this year, for my birthday, he went out and bought me a blu-ray of the TCW movie! Admittedly, I haven’t seen it yet. Why? Because my brother, who’s already seen it, wants to watch it with me as a special-double feature! And somehow we’ve never gotten around to doing so, but I think it’s pretty cool that, even though I’ve seen almost every episode of TCW, he wants to see the movie with me when I see it for the first time πŸ™‚
Really and truly, my whole family has been a big influence to my SW fandom (I’d say something like “the Force is strong with my family”, but it seems like everyone uses that phrase). I was surrounded by it growing up, even if my brother was the one who got most of the SW toys. But I still had fun playing with his toys, even before I was into SW. Looking back, I’m kinda surprised it took me as long as it did for me to become the SW fan I am today considering how much my aunts, uncles, cousins, and of course, my brother and parents, love the films. But better late than never; even a duck has to be taught to swim… (I just heard about that line in a novelization of Episode IV and I’m determined to use it whenever possible now hehehhehhh)
My birthday was an incredibly special day for many reasons, and one of the biggest reasons is due to my amazing family. For believing in me, understanding me and my crazy fandoms, being there for me, and for all in one way or another shaping me into a SW superfan, I send my thanks to all of them! πŸ™‚
Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

