From Clones To Rebels

I had full intentions to write a blog about the Lego shorts, but thennn I got aboard several Star Wars hype trains all over again. I’m down to the very last few chapters of the last Jedi Prince book and I’m biting my nails as to what’s going to happen next. I rewatched several TCW Season 2 episodes over the weekend, including a few I haven’t seen in nearly two years. So yeah… I’ve been going nuts about those things, but then! Hark, yesterday I got the coolest SW dish yet! The next animated Star Wars series, Star Wars Rebels, is set to premiere on Disney XD in Autumn 2014!!! *Twilight squeals in a super fangirly way* Oh, why must they keep meh waiting?! Well… mostly because they’ve got The Clone Wars to wrap up. While it may seem that I’m blissfully unaware of TCW’s grand finale being this year, I am aware of it. The news of it ending kind of saddened me, and who wouldn’t be a little blue? But we have to understand that the Clone Wars happened in a finite period of time; impatient ‘ol Sidious can only wait so long to get his new evil apprentice and call out Order 66! Considering I wasn’t sure that TCW would last this many seasons, I’m just thankful for the time we had. So to me, I can’t be more thankful for whatever they’re planning to do to tie up the loose ends before we say goodbye. I’ve seen the two clips they’ve released so far, and it’s a great comfort to me that it’s not quite over yet. I’m downright psyched to uncover the mysteries of this series! Mostly because I’m not sure what mysteries they’re talking about! Yeahhh I have got to get fully caught up with TCW…
But now Star Wars will have more new stories to tell in the animated form! If you haven’t already heard, Star Wars Rebels takes place between Episode III and Episode IV, a time that hasn’t been looked at much in the canon, unless you count the 80’s cartoons Droids and Ewoks, and The Force Unleashed videogames. The Force Unleashed has probably given us the best kind of idea of that era as we watch Vader’s “Plan A” for overtaking Emperor Palpatine (that would be a guy named Starkiller, his apprentice). Droids and Ewoks both have different sides of different stories and areas of the SW Universe, but as I’ve said, Rebels is going to be different. I’ve always myself wondered how the Rebellion came to be, and I’d hope to be introduced to some of these brave Rebels. I admit that I sadly overlook the Rebels sometimes as compared to the Jedi. As in, I know more about Kit Fisto than I do Wedge Antilles. That’s got to change, I know. Well, what better place to get to know them than this new show? Besides, it’s going to be CG animated and Dave Filoni is one of the executive producers, among other TCW veterans working on it, so I bet it’s going to be epicly mind-blowing in terms of Star Warsian awesome as well as animation! I have high hopes for this series. More fantastic and engaging characters, exciting adventures, nail-biting multiple-part stories, laugh-out-loud one-liners and moments, intense action, bittersweet moments, cry-your-eyes-out moments, lovable good guys, bad guys we love to hate, adorable couples and romances that I’ll go nuts over, and heartfelt stories that will guaranteed be awesome! Nothing unusual… just what Star Wars has always been and always will be. And in anticipation, I oughta go and finally give some of those Expanded Universe stories about this era a look. It’s not going to be entirely easy to switch gears and venture into a new time and place after The Clone Wars, but I think it’ll be wonderful in the end. After all, one of the things that makes Star Wars so great is that you can relive all the adventures over and over again! Well, I’ll try and keep you all updated as more news comes out! Or at least always have some thoughts to post about each update. Allrighty, Lucasfilm Animation, I’m waiting with eager anticipation!
Keep The Peace,
– Twilight

